Read sequential variable length file

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Just as a test, can you read the file using the following record schema?
record
{final_delim=end, delim=none}
(
RecNum:string[18];
RecLength:string[max=3];
Other:string[max=50];
)
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
c62dr08
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:47 pm

Post by c62dr08 »

Ray,
When I used your schema, I was able to browse only first and second columns.
FYI: Also, I want to use RCP on the transformer that goes right after Sequential file.
Thank you, Paul
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

How strange. Can you please try using Char instead of VarChar for the length?
record
{final_delim=end, delim=none}
(
RecNum:string[18];
RecLength:string[3];
Other:string[max=50];
)
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
c62dr08
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:47 pm

Post by c62dr08 »

Ray, it works now.
But how to include all the fields into file schema in order to use RCP?
Thank you, Paul
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

I prefer not to use RCP, so someone else will need to answer that.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
c62dr08
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:47 pm

Post by c62dr08 »

The reason I want to use RCP is that I have to process nine different copybooks with hundreds of fields.
Any suggestions?
Post Reply