Deleting Datasets

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
somu_june
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:28 am
Location: 36p,reading road

Deleting Datasets

Post by somu_june »

Hi,

I need to create a script to delete datasets that was previously created by jobs. I read in posts that I have to use orchadmin command to do it. Iam trying that command for first time can some body tell what orchadmin command do I need to use to delete the file.



Thanks,
Somaraju.
somaraju
crouse
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:59 pm
Contact:

Post by crouse »

orchadmin -help
Craig Rouse
Griffin Resouces, Inc
www.griffinresources.com
attu
Participant
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Texas

Post by attu »

pls set your configuration file and datastage environment and then you have to use orchadmin rm <datasetname>
somu_june
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:28 am
Location: 36p,reading road

Post by somu_june »

Hi,


when I did orchadmin -help it is saying orchadmin not found




Thanks,
Somaraju
somaraju
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Use your Data Set Management utility in the Manager client. You can much more easily delete data sets from there.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
crouse
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:59 pm
Contact:

Post by crouse »

That's the first step.
You need to find the actual executable.
It is in you $DSHOME/bin directory.
The directory has to be in your path or you need to specify the path.
Craig Rouse
Griffin Resouces, Inc
www.griffinresources.com
attu
Participant
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Texas

Post by attu »

somu_june wrote:Hi,


when I did orchadmin -help it is saying orchadmin not found




Thanks,
Somaraju
from DSHOME source your dsenv

from APT_ORCHHOME/bin

export LIBPATH=$LIBPATH:$APT_ORCHHOME/lib
export PATH=$PATH:$APT_ORCHHOME/bin
APT_ORCHHOME=/px; ( where you have your PXEngine)
export APT_CONFIG_FILE=/dsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Configurations/default.apt

Now run

orchadmin -help
crouse
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:59 pm
Contact:

Post by crouse »

Ray, the poster needs to delete datasets from a script. :wink:
Craig Rouse
Griffin Resouces, Inc
www.griffinresources.com
chrisjones
Participant
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:42 am

Re: Deleting Datasets

Post by chrisjones »

Steps to delete DS.
1.Login into DS Manager
2.Goto Toosl->Dataste Management
3.Select the DataSet that you want to delete
4.Once the Dataset is selected then press delete button.


Cheers,
Chrisjones
Thanks,
Chris Jones
keshav0307
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:17 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by keshav0307 »

cd $DSHOME ; ./dsenv ; cd ../PXEngine/bin ; export APT_CONFIG_FILE= <Config file name with Path>; orchadmin rm <dataset name>
Kris123
Participant
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:06 pm

Post by Kris123 »

To delete dataset at command line you need to invoke the osh shell (environment) and then use the Orchadmin rm <dataset> command.
Review Orchadmin -help to see all the available options.
Post Reply