Project currently locked

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

ratna
Participant
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:33 am

Project currently locked

Post by ratna »

Dear All,

When I try to open DataStage Designer or Director, I get this message :

ACCESS DENIED: Project currently locked. The project is currently locked by Administrator. Try again or see your Administrator

I've been searching about this message..

I ran ps -ef | grep dscs | wc -l
and the result is 70... *note : there's only about 10 people accessing the DataStage

Here I post some of the result of ps -ef | grep dsapi

dsadm 9117 9116 0 Apr 07 ? 1:30 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 24490 24489 0 Apr 08 ? 0:49 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 21052 21051 0 Apr 11 ? 0:08 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 6834 6833 0 May 13 ? 0:01 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 26880 26879 0 May 12 ? 0:03 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 12346 12345 0 Apr 10 ? 0:00 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 23086 23085 0 Apr 08 ? 0:04 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 6824 6823 0 May 13 ? 0:04 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 543 542 0 May 06 ? 0:00 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 2455 2454 0 Apr 08 ? 0:45 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 16610 16609 0 Apr 09 ? 0:09 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 6202 6201 0 Apr 17 ? 0:01 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 17592 17591 0 Apr 09 ? 0:06 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 928 927 0 Apr 10 ? 0:01 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 3644 3643 0 May 07 ? 0:04 dsapi_slave 8 7 0
dsadm 21969 21968 0 13:53:02 ? 0:01 dsapi_slave 8 7 0

What i want to ask is...
Is it okay if i kill the dsapi_slave with the date 'May' or 'April'?
How to kill it?

and 1 more... can I start the deadlock daemon without restarting the Datastage?

Thanks,
Ratna
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You can (as root or dsadm) start the dsdlockd process without restarting DataStage, from the $DSHOME directory.

Code: Select all

nohup bin/dsdlockd > dsdlockd.log 2>&1 &
You can also get dsdlockd to perform just a single probe by adding a -p option to the command line.

Code: Select all

bin/dsdlockd -p
Try never to kill DataStage processes with kill -9 command. This is particularly true for parallel jobs, in which there can be myriad processes.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
ratna
Participant
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:33 am

Post by ratna »

hiks.. i couldnt see your post ray...
i know you would say its worth it to be premium member... but i am just not in the able condition of subscribing to premium member :(
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

The important part of the post is visible, the rest you can use the documentation and the search facility to figure out.
ratna
Participant
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:33 am

Post by ratna »

Thx AndrW..
I'm just scared im missing something on Ray's post..
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Not scared enough to get a premium membership, though :wink:
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Search the forums for DS.TOOLS and use the 'logout' option there as 'dsadm' to clear those old pids. It's under '4' then '9' from what I recall.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ratna
Participant
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:33 am

Post by ratna »

Thanks chullet,

That 'logout option' in DS.TOOLS is the same with the Cleanup Resources in Datastage Director, right?

So nothings wrong is gonna happen on my datastage when i 'logout' the old pids, right?

Thanks alot everybody, for helping me...
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Basically yes, the same. Only 'wrong' thing might be if you logged out the wrong PID, I suppose. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Brian Zhang
Participant
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Project currently locked

Post by Brian Zhang »

Recently, we met this issue as well.
And does it have certain relationship with the tunable paramter MFILES?
Pls guide me, thanks in advance.

Regards
Brian.
Brian Zhang
Participant
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Project currently locked

Post by Brian Zhang »

Recently, we met this issue as well.
And does it has certain relationship with the tunable paramter MFILES?
Pls guide me, thanks in advance.

Regards
Brian.
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

The MFILES setting in the UVCONFIG controls how many actual Hashed files are open at any time; this setting can seriously affect performance but has not direct impact on the problems described in this thread.
Brian Zhang
Participant
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by Brian Zhang »

ArndW wrote:The MFILES setting in the UVCONFIG controls how many actual Hashed files are open at any time; this setting can seriously affect performance but has not direct impact on the problems described in this ...
Hi Arndw,

Thanks for your reply.
Currently, on our dev server, there is prompt message popped up, "ACCESS DENIED: Project currently locked. The project is currently locked by Administrator. Try again or see your Administrator", when someone tried to open client tool Designer.

The DS server is running on Linux Box.

So, do you think what kind of problem is to this issues?

Thanks in advance.
Brian
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

In the first reply on this thread, Ray detailed how to start the deadlock daemon. Do you have this running?
Brian Zhang
Participant
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:13 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by Brian Zhang »

ArndW wrote:In the first reply on this thread, Ray detailed how to start the deadlock daemon. Do you have this running? ...
Hi ArndW,
Thanks for your reply.
The deadlock daemon process is not running on our dev env.
And I would appreciate it if you could elaborate what the deadlock daemon works for. Or tell me which document I could reference for deadlock daemon.
Thanks in advance.
Post Reply