Need Help To delete a job

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
DSDexter
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:36 pm
Location: Pune,India

Need Help To delete a job

Post by DSDexter »

Hi All,

I am struggling to delete a job. Error Message I get is It's being accessed by another user. When I veiw the process in DS Administator I am able to veiw the job that is locked at record level. I took the PID,UserNo and Inode No. from DS Administrator. When I view the process in Unix. I dont see any process running for that PID. :shock: So I cant KILL that process from Unix.
Secondly Cleanup resources is not working. And to make matter worst I dont have administratir rights on the project so that I can go through the standard procedure and UNLOCK the job.

Is there any other approach I can try? Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks
DSDexter
hamzaqk
Participant
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:50 am
Location: islamabad

Post by hamzaqk »

At the Shell
------------

- Execute the following commands:
cd $DSHOME
. dsenv
bin/uvsh

- If the job is locked, execute the following:
UNLOCK RECORD jobname ALL

Then go in the repository and delete the job
Teradata Certified Master V2R5
DSDexter
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:36 pm
Location: Pune,India

Post by DSDexter »

hamzaqk wrote:At the Shell
------------

- Execute the following commands:
cd $DSHOME
. dsenv
bin/uvsh

- If the job is locked, execute the following:
UNLOCK RECORD jobname ALL

Then go in the repository and delete the job
I dont have Admin rights as mentioned earlier in my post.So the above procedure will not work for me.
Thanks
DSDexter
hamzaqk
Participant
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:50 am
Location: islamabad

Post by hamzaqk »

cant do much then :(
Teradata Certified Master V2R5
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You don't need admin rights to unlock if you can log on as the user that holds the lock... can you?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
DSDexter
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:36 pm
Location: Pune,India

Post by DSDexter »

chulett wrote:You don't need admin rights to unlock if you can log on as the user that holds the lock... can you? ...
Craig,

I am using the same user-id against which the lock is is, But still when I try to unlock the job, It throws a message Insufficient privileges to perform lock maintenance. So does the theory, who locks! can unlock! fail here? Alos why cant I see the process running on my Unix Screen?

I ran

Code: Select all

ps -ef | grep dsapi
and Also

Code: Select all

ps -ef | grep '8791'
where 8791 is my PID which It got from Administrator, But I shows no records. :?
Thanks
DSDexter
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Sorry, guess I was thinking of something else - a DS.TOOLS 'logout', whih removes any locks as well. For this, you'll need to turn it over to an Admin AFAIK.

What does 'LIST.READU' or DS.TOOLS show?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
DSDexter
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:36 pm
Location: Pune,India

Post by DSDexter »

It shows the job in active locks category.
Thanks
DSDexter
DSDexter
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:36 pm
Location: Pune,India

Post by DSDexter »

Craig This is what I am getting

Code: Select all

>LIST.READU EVERY

Active Group Locks:                                    Record Group Group Group
Device.... Inode....  Netnode Userno  Lmode G-Address.  Locks ...RD ...SH ...EX
  63208824       533        0     45   7 IN       2800      1     0     0     0
  63208720       668        0  35601  12 IN       1000      1     0     0     0
  63208807      1006        0  57503  28 WR       4000      0     0     0     0
  63208824       396        0  43508  31 IN       1000      1     0     0     0
  63177716      1480        0     45  37 IN        800      7     0     0     0
  63208807      1006        0  57503  37 WR          0      0     0     0     0
  63177716        28        0  42766  40 IN        800      9     0     0     0
  63177716        28        0  42766  51 IN       1000      4     0     0     0
  63208824       533        0     45  60 IN        800      1     0     0     0
  63208824      2754        0  39010  61 IN       1000      1     0     0     0
  63208706       413        0  55268  70 IN       2000      1     0     0     0
  63208807      1006        0  57503  81 WR       2000      0     0     0     0
  63208824       533        0  42766  86 IN       A800      1     0     0     0
  63208771       534        0  43475  87 IN       A800      1     0     0     0

Active Record Locks:
Device.... Inode....  Netnode Userno  Lmode   Pid Login Id Item-ID.............
  63208824       533        0  52412   7 RL 13124 evdfadm  RT_CONFIG69
  63208720       668        0  35601  12 RL 29935 TenduG   RT_LOG113
  63208824       396        0  56745  31 RU  8791 evdfadm  src2rawEvdfFSEarnsLodRaw
  63177716      1480        0  56745  37 RL  8791 evdfadm  evdf&!DS.ADMIN!&
  63177716        28        0  56745  51 RU  8791 evdfadm  0D2234B0-118C-431E-981E-35BDE17208A3-BOS-PROD-TS-415:8791

Can you tell me why so many entries are created for a single PID? And what do they mean :?:
Thanks
DSDexter
attu
Participant
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Texas

Post by attu »

Code: Select all

63208824       396        0  56745  31 RU  8791 evdfadm  src2rawEvdfFSEarnsLodRaw 
Your job name..

Code: Select all

  63177716      1480        0  56745  37 RL  8791 evdfadm  evdf&!DS.ADMIN!& 
The project you are in - evdf

Code: Select all

63177716        28        0  56745  51 RU  8791 evdfadm  0D2234B0-118C-431E-981E-35BDE17208A3-BOS-PROD-TS-415:8791
mac address, computer name and PID
[/code]
DSDexter
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:36 pm
Location: Pune,India

Post by DSDexter »

Code: Select all

  63177716      1480        0  56745  37 RL  8791 evdfadm  evdf&!DS.ADMIN!& 
Hi Attu,

Thanks ofr that information, Can you tell me what &!DS>ADMIN!& indicate above
Thanks
DSDexter
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

evdf&!DS.ADMIN!& is a special value that is used to create a shared lock of the same name to indicate that there is a client connected to the evdf project. This is used by several Administrator utilities to check quickly whether they can have exclusive access (no connected clients) to the project. Hence the "&!DS.ADMIN!&".
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply