User Defined Environment variables

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
mc_harsha
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:44 am
Location: bangalore

User Defined Environment variables

Post by mc_harsha »

Hi,

In which file the user defined environment variables defined in director will be stored in datastage?

My requirement is to extract the user defined einvironment variables in Unix using shell script.

with regards,
MCH :roll:
harshakumar mc
BugFree
Participant
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:02 am

Post by BugFree »

All environment variables are stored in DSParam file in your project directory. But this is not the best approach. And also i dont know any other way. So use it, but very carefully, till the time someone here has a better approach.
Ping me if I am wrong...
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Whence arose that rather odd requirement?

What about all the other environment variables? Technically every environment variable is user-defined. The "User Defined" category in the Administrator client is just a nicety - you can create them anywhere (if you know how).
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
mc_harsha
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:44 am
Location: bangalore

Post by mc_harsha »

All,

In the project we are using user defined variables in datastage jobs.

But in Oracle Load method we have to
a) disable the triggers as well, But this option is not present in the oracle Enterprise stage.
b) Some of the columns in the table having constraints which refer to the some other column in the same table.
So we need to alter the exection of enabling constraints, then only load method works fine.

To do above tasks we need have connection information for oracle.

with regards,
Harsha
harshakumar mc
mc_harsha
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:44 am
Location: bangalore

Post by mc_harsha »

mc_harsha wrote:All,

In the project we are using user defined variables in datastage jobs.

But in Oracle Load method we have to
a) disable the triggers as well, But this option is not present in the oracle Enterprise stage.
b) Some of the columns in the table having constraints which refer to the some other column in the same table.
So we need to alter the exection of enabling constraints, then only load method works fine.

To do above tasks we need have connection information for oracle.
:idea:
with regards,
Harsha
harshakumar mc
BugFree
Participant
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:02 am

Post by BugFree »

Not clear. I dont understand your requirement. Where do you want to use this connection information? In a third party tool? Disabling triggers can be done in the open command in the oracle enterprise stage. Regarding load options search for "APT_ORACLE_LOAD_OPTIONS" in the forum here, and read through the documentation on the stage.
Ping me if I am wrong...
mc_harsha
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:44 am
Location: bangalore

Post by mc_harsha »

BugFree wrote:Not clear. I dont understand your requirement. Where do you want to use this connection information? In a third party tool? Disabling triggers can be done in the open command in the oracle enterprise stage. Regarding load options search for "APT_ORACLE_LOAD_OPTIONS" in the forum here, and read through the documentation on the stage.
Hi,

Thanks for your replay..

Is it possiable to execute multiple commands in open command?

ex:
ALTER TABLE RMSGAP.ITEM_MASTER DISABLE CONSTRAINT SYS_C006240 ;
ALTER TABLE RMSGAP.ITEM_MASTER DISABLE CONSTRAINT SYS_C006241 ;

with regards,
harsha
harshakumar mc
BugFree
Participant
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:02 am

Post by BugFree »

Code: Select all

Use it to specify a command, in single quotes, to be parsed
and executed by the Oracle database
This is what the document says. So possibly only one command. But have you tried to execute multiple commands? What happened?
Ping me if I am wrong...
mc_harsha
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:44 am
Location: bangalore

Post by mc_harsha »

Hi bugfree,

We cannot execute multiple commands using open or close command.


with regards,
harsha
harshakumar mc
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Did you try delimiting the commands with double semi colons (;;) ?
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What has that got to do with user-defined environment variables?!!
:roll:
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply