compilation taking long time

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
IBMDS
Participant
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:58 pm

compilation taking long time

Post by IBMDS »

Hello,

i am extracting data from sequential file(comma delimiter), it contains 120 columns. I am checking the (if Len(trim(column1)) = 0 then setnull() else trim(column1)) for all the 120 columns. The compilation is taking almost 20 minutes sucessfully. why its taking long time?, is there any possibility of cut the compilation time.


Thanks
IBMDS
IBMDS
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

Describe your job design. Also, compilation is a server activity, if your DS instance is on a node that is heavily utilized that will affect client side response.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
IBMDS
Participant
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:58 pm

Post by IBMDS »

There are no process running on server. we have two nodes.

I verified with ps -ef | grep osh command.

Here is the design:

Sequential file -----> Transformer -------> Teradata(table)

in transformer checking for the len(trim(column1) = 0 then setnull() Else trim(column1)

Thanks
IBMDS
IBMDS
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Transform stages can take a long time to compile. This time can also depend upon how many concurrent users your c++ is licensed for.
IBMDS
Participant
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:58 pm

Post by IBMDS »

This time its compiled very fast less than 1 minute. Thanks you all for the help.

Thanks
IBMDS
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

When a job is re-compiled and no changes have been made to a Transformer stage that has previously been compiled successfully, the Transformer stage is not re-compiled. This may be what you are seeing. There is a Force Compile option in the menu if you want to force re-compilation of the Transformer stage.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply