dsjob return 255

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
mrvsr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:33 am

dsjob return 255

Post by mrvsr »

Hi,

I am executing below unix script to run my job "test2" which is having only 2 parameters apt config file and dummy(which is not used in the job).
Job is working fine from the designer. but script is not executing.
Please correct me if I did any mistake in the script.

dshome=`cat /.dshome`;export dshome
PATH=$PATH:$dshome/bin; export PATH
. $dshome/dsenv
echo 'env set up done'
server='xxx'
user='xxxx'
pswd='xxxxx'
runinfo=`dsjob -server $server -user $user -password $pswd -run -jobstatus -parm dummy=d RMS_OFFSHR_RT test2 2>&1`
dsjobStatus=$?
echo 'job ran '
echo $runinfo
echo 'error'
echo $dsjobStatus

I am getting below out put with error 255

env set up done
job ran
Command Syntax: dsjob [-file <file> <domain> <DataStage server> | -domain <domain> -user <user> -password <password> -server <DataStage server>] <primary command> [<arguments>] Valid primary command options are: -run -stop -lprojects -ljobs -linvocations -lstages -llinks -projectinfo -jobinfo -stageinfo -linkinfo -lparams -paraminfo -log -logsum -logdetail -lognewest -report -jobid -import Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR
error
255

Please let me know how to resolve this.
Last edited by mrvsr on Tue Mar 18, 2008 1:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Thanks
MRVSR
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

-param is the correct option, not -parm
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
mrvsr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:33 am

Post by mrvsr »

Hi Ray,

I tried with -param (without -param also) but it still giving the same error :( . Please let me know is -param parameter is mandatory.
How to resolve this error. :shock:

runinfo=`dsjob -server $server -user $user -password $pswd -run -jobstatus -param dummy=d RMS_OFFSHR_RT test2 2>&1`
Thanks
MRVSR
AmeyJoshi14
Participant
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Texas

Post by AmeyJoshi14 »

Can you just try running only this command:

runinfo=`$DSHOME/bin/dsjob -run -jobstatus $PROJECTNAME $JOBNAME`

I have ran your scipt in my environment and it is running fine..i just changed the value of "runinfo". :o
deanwalker
Participant
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:37 am
Location: UK

Post by deanwalker »

This is 8.x, you need to specify the domain too.
mrvsr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:33 am

Post by mrvsr »

Thanks you all.


Yes if we specify server related information we have use either of the below options with ALL parameters.

-file <file> <domain> <DataStage server>

or

-domain <domain> -user <user> -password <password> -server <DataStage server>

Thanks again for all your help.
Thanks
MRVSR
Post Reply