Initializing DOUBLE column to zero giving error

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
ds2000
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:25 pm
Location: ny

Initializing DOUBLE column to zero giving error

Post by ds2000 »

Im Initializing some columns with 0 and there datatype is DOUBLE in a transformer. It gives me compilation error. My table has 400 colums. It is working fine if i assign column derivation to these colums. Following is the error: I dont know what im doing wrong:

<transform> Error when checking composite operator: The number of reject datasets "0"is less than the number of input datasets "1".
ds2000
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:25 pm
Location: ny

more error details

Post by ds2000 »

<main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Output from subprocess: D:\DDPSM07\Data\DS\Dev\Projects\PPAM_DEV\RT_BP466.O\V34S0_jp9MergingPpamData_a_xfmChar0toSpac.C(319) : warning C4244: '=' : conversion from 'APT_Int64' to 'int', possible loss of data
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

(From memory) the IEEE standard that prescribes how Float and Double are stored does not permit zero (all zero bits). There is an environment variable that allows you to override this rule but I can't recall its name.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Normally you use the "fix_zero" keyword on conversions to allow this, or "allow zero" on the type default. I don't know which environment parameter might globally affect this, though.
ds2000
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:25 pm
Location: ny

Post by ds2000 »

if i use stage variables ?
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Do a derivation of

Code: Select all

StringToDecimal('0','allow_zero')
ds2000
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:25 pm
Location: ny

Post by ds2000 »

I already solved it by adding another tx before where i was initializing with zeros and its working.

Thanks for help.
ds2000
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:25 pm
Location: ny

Post by ds2000 »

I already solved it by adding another tx before where i was initializing with zeros and its working.

Thanks for help.
dspxlearn
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 1:26 am

Post by dspxlearn »

hi ds2000-
ds2000: I already solved it by adding another tx before where i was initializing with zeros and its working.
Did you add another transformer? Can you please brief your workaround a bit?
Thanks and Regards!!
dspxlearn
Post Reply