Duplicate values causing fork() failed issue

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Aquilis
Participant
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Bangalore
Contact:

Duplicate values causing fork() failed issue

Post by Aquilis »

Hi all,
I am encountering with this Fork failed issue.This error occurs only when the duplicate entries are in the source file.If file is clean without having duplicates entries, then everything goes fine.I have gone through the posts,but i didn,t get the reason.

is there any exception handling i left with.Do Suggest me.error details from log seems to be like as mentioned below:

node_node1: Fatal Error: Unable to start ORCHESTRATE process on node node1 (bos-test-3): APT_PMPlayer::APT_PMPlayer: fork() failed, Not enough space

main_program: The Section Leader on node node1 has terminated unexpectedly.

node_node2: Fatal Error: Unable to start ORCHESTRATE process on node node2 (bos-test-3): APT_PMPlayer::APT_PMPlayer: fork() failed, Not enough space

main_program: The Section Leader on node node2 has terminated unexpectedly.

main_program: Fatal Error: Unable to start ORCHESTRATE job: APT_PMwaitForPlayersToStart failed while waiting for players to confirm startup. This likely indicates a network problem.
Status from APT_PMpoll is 0; node name is node1
Aquilis
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

What sort of stages are you using? Are you loading lookup filesets in the job? If you turn off combination does the error point to a particular stage?
Aquilis
Participant
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Bangalore
Contact:

Post by Aquilis »

1.Oracle Enterprise stage
2. Lookup Stage
3.RDBMS Stage

I am using Oracle Enterpise stage as target database stage to catch the rejected records out of it.And it rejects the records firmly,no isuue in that.Otherthan this I am using lookup stage to lookup source data again.
Its not specifying any particular stage name which is causing this error.

thanks,
Aquilis
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Try setting APT_DISABLE_COMBINATION to true and see if you do get a stage name or at least a different error message.
Aquilis
Participant
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Bangalore
Contact:

Post by Aquilis »

i did it too. but unable to find anything new.its not specifying the exact stage,where its going wrong.
Aquilis
exintegration
Participant
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:30 pm

Duplicate values causing fork() failed issue

Post by exintegration »

Try to break your jobs into smaller jobs to avoid such type of errors....
Integrator
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

If you replace your RDBMS output stage with a sequential file or a dataset, does the error persist?
balajisr
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:58 am

Post by balajisr »

If I understand correctly your job design is:


???
|
|
|
RDBMS Stage -------> Lookup-------> Oracle Enterprise Stage
How do you lookup? Is it a lookup fileset? What is the size of your reference data?
balajisr
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:58 am

Post by balajisr »

If I understand correctly your job design is:


???
|
|
|
RDBMS Stage -------> Lookup-------> Oracle Enterprise Stage
How do you lookup? Is it a lookup fileset? What is the size of your reference data?
Aquilis
Participant
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Bangalore
Contact:

Post by Aquilis »

Sorry for delayed response.
I am trying to picturise here my dataflow structure.Hope you guyz understand this flow,bcoz i am unable to picturise it here clearly.In this flow i am capturing rejections from Middle transfomer and Oracle enteprise stage and then i am collecting all the rejections form both end and passing it to DRS stage through Funnel.

Code: Select all

OracleEnterprisestage--------->transformer----------->oracleEntrpriseStage
                              |                              | 
                              |                              |
                            Funnel<------------------Transformer
                             |             
                             |                  
                        Transformer
                             |
                             |
                        Lookup-------------->OracleEnterprise
                             |
                             |
                        RDMBS Stage
Previously i was getting error like this:
Orchestrate APT_PMPlayer::APT_PMPlayer: fork() failed, Not enough space

Now i am getting error sometimes like 'OUT OF MEMORY' , and sometime error like mentioning: "UNAVAILABLE RESOURCE".

Do suggest us.

Thanks.
Last edited by Aquilis on Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Aquilis
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

:idea:
Wrap your design in Code tags, then use Preview to get it right.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
dhiren
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:24 am

Error with Lookup Stage

Post by dhiren »

I think this error has more to do with the Lookup Stage used in job. Can you try replacing input key with another value of the same datatype.

Also try checking other contraints in Lookup, like "Continue" etc. in the stage.

Hope this helps,
Dhiren
Aquilis
Participant
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Bangalore
Contact:

Post by Aquilis »

I dont think lookup stage is anything to do with this,correct me if i am wrong.
actually i executed this job successfully many times ,from past few days i am facing this fork failed() issue. the same job design has worked fine before,now i am not to do further,its giving same error for all jobs.


Thanks you,
Aquilis
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Clean up your system. Remove all unwanted files. Purge log files. Delete all files from &PH&. Allocate more disk space to the resources disk and scratch disk.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply