Inserting records in table

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Kolkata
Contact:

Inserting records in table

Post by pravin1581 »

Hi All,

we have designed a simple job that loads data into a table using ODBC stage from a file. The records are imported from the file successfully , but it is unable to load in the database . The table to which it loads has been created in the database. The job is getting aborted with the error Create External Table Permission denied. The table is the Netezza table.

Thanx in advance.
siddesai
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:28 pm

Re: Inserting records in table

Post by siddesai »

pravin1581 wrote:Hi All,

we have designed a simple job that loads data into a table using ODBC stage from a file. The records are imported from the file successfully , but it is unable to load in the database . The table to which it loads has been created in the database. The job is getting aborted with the error Create External Table Permission denied. The table is the Netezza table.

Thanx in advance.
The error itself seems to be self explanatory.

You need to allow(give access rights) to external sources (in this case odbc) to create tables in your database.
pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Kolkata
Contact:

Re: Inserting records in table

Post by pravin1581 »

siddesai wrote:
pravin1581 wrote:Hi All,

we have designed a simple job that loads data into a table using ODBC stage from a file. The records are imported from the file successfully , but it is unable to load in the database . The table to which it loads has been created in the database. The job is getting aborted with the error Create External Table Permission denied. The table is the Netezza table.

Thanx in advance.
The error itself seems to be self explanatory.

You need to allow(give access rights) to external sources (in this case odbc) to create tables in your database.
The table is in the database , how can i give write access to the ODBC stage.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

It's got to be about granting those rights to the user you are connecting as rather than to any particular stage. Talk to your Netezza DBA.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
VCInDSX
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:02 am
Location: US

Re: Inserting records in table

Post by VCInDSX »

pravin1581 wrote: The table to which it loads has been created in the database. The job is getting aborted with the error Create External Table Permission denied.
Hi Pravin,
Your initial statement says the table is already in the database. Are you sure you want your insert process to create the table from the ODBC stage? Maybe you should check the properties of the stage to ensure that you haven't enabled that.
To check your permissions, login using your account id and password to the DB via Standard (Netezza) SQL Client UI or command interface and try creating a table. If that is allowed then your DBA has granted permissions for creating tables on the fly. If not, your project policies would dictate if table creation is required or if all tables are pre-created and users can only insert/update/delete records from the tables.
Some of the policies may allow creation of "#Temp" tables only.

HTH,
-V
pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Kolkata
Contact:

Re: Inserting records in table

Post by pravin1581 »

VCInDSX wrote:
pravin1581 wrote: The table to which it loads has been created in the database. The job is getting aborted with the error Create External Table Permission denied.
Hi Pravin,
Your initial statement says the table is already in the database. Are you sure you want your insert process to create the table from the ODBC stage? Maybe you should check the properties of the stage to ensure that you haven't enabled that.
To check your permissions, login using your account id and password to the DB via Standard (Netezza) SQL Client UI or command interface and try creating a table. If that is allowed then your DBA has granted permissions for creating tables on the fly. If not, your project policies would dictate if table creation is required or if all tables are pre-created and users can only insert/update/delete records from the tables.
Some of the policies may allow creation of "#Temp" tables only.

HTH,

That part has been handled , now i am stuck in another problem . There are certain conditions in the job like the server name, pwd, user , database and the datasource that have been parameterized and the table name has been hardcoded. When I am running the job with the dsjob command the job is getting aborted with the error as "Unrecognized argument:<TABLE NAME>, even though the table name is not passed as the parameter.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What value - precisely - do you have in the Table field of your ODBC stage?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Kolkata
Contact:

Post by pravin1581 »

ray.wurlod wrote:What value - precisely - do you have in the Table field of your ODBC stage?
The stage is the Netezza stage .Table name is hardcoded.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

With what value?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Kolkata
Contact:

Post by pravin1581 »

ray.wurlod wrote:With what value?
Thanx for all the suggestions, the issue has been resolved.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

To aid future searchers, please post HOW this issue was resolved.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Kolkata
Contact:

Post by pravin1581 »

ray.wurlod wrote:To aid future searchers, please post HOW this issue was resolved.

Actually there was an issue with the database name, the job was being run from unix and the database name passed in the script was not same as the name in the uvodbc.config file.
Post Reply