Compilation error after migration from V7.1r2 to V7.5.1A

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
benny.lbs
Participant
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:46 am

Compilation error after migration from V7.1r2 to V7.5.1A

Post by benny.lbs »

I am performing the migration from V7.1r2 to V7.5.1A. What I do is
(1) Export the whole project from V7.1r2 server
(2) Import into V7.5.1A server
(3) Compile all the related entities

When compiling, lots of jobs (they can be compiled successfully and running normally in V7.1r2 server) are failed with various errors. :shock:

All the failed jobs are with Transformer inside.

Can anyone share your experience on the migration problem you have encountered. Is there any bug fix for Transformer ?
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

So it should be issue with the compiler configuration. What is the error that you get?
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Did you check the Force compile option?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

If Iam not wrong, the initial compile should be same as forced compile. And it will affect only the compiled codes.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Not necessarily, if the export included the job executables.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
s_boyapati
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 6:24 am
Contact:

Post by s_boyapati »

If you let server upgrade process do upgade process, all projects on server will be backed up upgade process by exporting projects and other components, but not executables. If you include executables in manual process, these happened to me also.

Sree
benny.lbs
Participant
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:46 am

Post by benny.lbs »

One of the error show as below
##E TBLD 000000 07:05:32(000) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Subprocess command failed with exit status 256.
##E TFSR 000019 07:05:32(001) <main_program> Could not check all operators because of previous error(s)
##W TFCP 000000 07:05:32(002) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: The number of reject datasets "0" is less than the number of input datasets "1".
##W TFCP 000025 07:05:32(003) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Converting ustring to string using codepage ISO-8859-1.
##W TFCP 000000 07:05:32(004) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Implicit conversion from source type "UString" to result type "String".
##W TFCP 000025 07:05:32(005) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Converting ustring to string using codepage ISO-8859-1.
##W TFCP 000000 07:05:32(006) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Implicit conversion from source type "UString" to result type "String".
##W TBLD 000000 07:05:32(007) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Output from subprocess: "/sysp/DataStage/Projects/dpr_rpm_asp_dev/RT_BP460.O/V0S34_JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel_Conv_ArngID.C", line 583.137: 1540-0064 (S) Syntax error: ")" was expected but ";" was found.

##I TFCP 000000 07:05:32(008) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: /usr/vacpp/bin/xlC_r -O -I/sysp/DataStage/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/include -O -c -qspill=32704 /hsbc/rpm/DataStage/Projects/dpr_rpm_asp_dev/RT_BP460.O/V0S34_JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel_Conv_ArngID.C -o /hsbc/rpm/DataStage/Projects/dpr_rpm_asp_dev/RT_BP460.O/V0S34_JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel_Conv_ArngID.tmp.o.
##E TCOS 000029 07:05:32(009) <main_program> Creation of a step finished with status = FAILED. (JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel.Conv_ArngID)

And I have located the source C file for line 583 and 584
output0StringARNG_ID[0]=(input0StringARNG_ID[0]+APT_TOFunctions::get().trimc_string(localVar440,stage0InterVar0_3,stage0InterVar0_4);
)+stage0strOfSpace40;
However, it should be

Code: Select all

0070: 		Arng_Arng_Rel_Wr.ARNG_ID = ((Arng_Arng_Rel_Jr.ARNG_ID + trimc_string(Arng_Arng_Rel_Jr.ARNG_ID_AC_OPN_DT , InterVar0_3 , InterVar0_4)) + string_of_space(40));
A line break was added to the end of the ")+stage0strOfSpace40". So compilation failed.


Don't know why the line break was added in V7.5.1A compilation. Any hints ?
benny.lbs
Participant
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:46 am

Post by benny.lbs »

benny.lbs wrote:One of the error show as below
##E TBLD 000000 07:05:32(000) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Subprocess command failed with exit status 256.
##E TFSR 000019 07:05:32(001) <main_program> Could not check all operators because of previous error(s)
##W TFCP 000000 07:05:32(002) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: The number of reject datasets "0" is less than the number of input datasets "1".
##W TFCP 000025 07:05:32(003) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Converting ustring to string using codepage ISO-8859-1.
##W TFCP 000000 07:05:32(004) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Implicit conversion from source type "UString" to result type "String".
##W TFCP 000025 07:05:32(005) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Converting ustring to string using codepage ISO-8859-1.
##W TFCP 000000 07:05:32(006) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Implicit conversion from source type "UString" to result type "String".
##W TBLD 000000 07:05:32(007) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Output from subprocess: "/sysp/DataStage/Projects/dpr_rpm_asp_dev/RT_BP460.O/V0S34_JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel_Conv_ArngID.C", line 583.137: 1540-0064 (S) Syntax error: ")" was expected but ";" was found.

##I TFCP 000000 07:05:32(008) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: /usr/vacpp/bin/xlC_r -O -I/sysp/DataStage/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/include -O -c -qspill=32704 /hsbc/rpm/DataStage/Projects/dpr_rpm_asp_dev/RT_BP460.O/V0S34_JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel_Conv_ArngID.C -o /hsbc/rpm/DataStage/Projects/dpr_rpm_asp_dev/RT_BP460.O/V0S34_JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel_Conv_ArngID.tmp.o.
##E TCOS 000029 07:05:32(009) <main_program> Creation of a step finished with status = FAILED. (JobRPM372_ASP_CDM_Corr_Mtg_Ac_Rel.Conv_ArngID)

And I have located the source C file for line 583 and 584
output0StringARNG_ID[0]=(input0StringARNG_ID[0]+APT_TOFunctions::get().trimc_string(localVar440,stage0InterVar0_3,stage0InterVar0_4);
)+stage0strOfSpace40;
However, it should be

Code: Select all

0070: 		Arng_Arng_Rel_Wr.ARNG_ID = ((Arng_Arng_Rel_Jr.ARNG_ID + trimc_string(Arng_Arng_Rel_Jr.ARNG_ID_AC_OPN_DT , InterVar0_3 , InterVar0_4)) + string_of_space(40));
A line break was added to the end of the ")+stage0strOfSpace40". So compilation failed.


Don't know why the line break was added in V7.5.1A compilation. Any hints ?


This is a bug, we have contacted IBM Support to obtain the fix package. After that, it can be compiled.
Post Reply