bad performance

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
fmartinsferreira
Participant
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 10:51 am
Location: Brazil

bad performance

Post by fmartinsferreira »

I have a server with one project.
In this project I have 5 critical servers jobs.

job1
job2
job3
job4
job5

These five jobs start at the same time.

job1, job2 and job3 spend 2 hours.
job4 and job5 spend 10 hours.

We re-build job4 and job5 as a parallel job and now they run in 2 hours,
but job1, job2 and job3 are spending 4 hours.

why?

good point - none another application concurring in datastage server

Regards,

Fernando
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

May be Job 4 and Job 5 are consuming all the resources, leaving very little for Job1, Job2 and job3.
My two cents.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
fmartinsferreira
Participant
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 10:51 am
Location: Brazil

Post by fmartinsferreira »

narasimha wrote:May be Job 4 and Job 5 are consuming all the resources, leaving very little for Job1, Job2 and job3.
My two cents.
Is there any way to separate some resource only for the servers jobs?

Something like

parallel - 70%
server - 30%

Fernando
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

there is no easy way to separate out the Parallel and Server job workloads. Your only steering mechanism is via the APT_CONFIG file and how many nodes you choose to use in the PX jobs. Note that PX jobs inherently get more system resources than server jobs.
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

Can job1, job2 and job3 be converted to PX jobs?
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
Krazykoolrohit
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:36 am
Location: Ohio

Post by Krazykoolrohit »

tell us the amount of data which you trying to pass
fmartinsferreira
Participant
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 10:51 am
Location: Brazil

Post by fmartinsferreira »

Can job1, job2 and job3 be converted to PX jobs?
Yes, but I can have the same problem with others projects.
tell us the amount of data which you trying to pass
job1 = 5 million registers
job2 = 5 million registers
job3 = 5 million registers
job4 = 85 million registers
job5 = 85 million registers


Fernando
Krazykoolrohit
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:36 am
Location: Ohio

Post by Krazykoolrohit »

and your job design?

if you are using to extract and load into tables in the same job with so much data, i have observed it to be slower in server jobs than in parallel ones.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Parallel jobs cosume far more resources than server jobs; these may be starving the server jobs of resources. Have you considered this design in a job sequence?

Code: Select all

Job1  -----+
           |                    +--->  Job4
Job2  -----+--->  Sequencer  ---+
           |         (all)      +--->  Job5
Job3  -----+
Or even:

Code: Select all

Job1  -----+
           |                    
Job2  -----+--->  Sequencer  ----->  Job4  ---->  Job5
           |         (all)     
Job3  -----+
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply