Error : Not bounded length

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

No,
Sorry,It was pasting error

Thanks
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Apologies on my part, I re-read your previous post. Insert is working but update is not huh..
Have you tried generated sql query as I asked you before.
The error maybe due to the fact that you are passing less number of columns in update as compared to the number specified in the column's tab. Try adding all the columns and see if that works.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Thanks DSGuru2B,
I tried as you said and found that Actully Insert Giving me Fatal:
INSERT INTO Table_name
( SUB_NM, G_SK, EFF_DT,EXP_DT, C_CD, A_SK)

VALUES
(
ORCHESTRATE.SUB_NM,
ORCHESTRATE.G_SK ,
CURRENT DATE,
'9999-12-31',
'C',
ORCHESTRATE.A_SK
)
What is wrong with this ? All columns are there in Column Tab.

Thanks
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

swades wrote: Actully Insert Giving me Fatal:
What is the Fatal error???
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

I think it doesn't like the string '9999-12-31' - what is the column data type for that value? Perhaps you need to cast this string to a date or timestamp...
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

I am sorry
Actully I posted in earlier post
it is :
DataDirect][ODBC lib] Program type out of range
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

You think its the CURRENT DATE that might be the problem? What database are you connecting to. Get the current date within the transformer and pass it to the column "EFF_DT"
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Thanks
what is the column data type for that value?
It is Date.
What database are you connecting to
It is DB2

As I posted earlier: In Update SQL I am using data from Tranformer for Updating.
BUT
to Insert I am using this SQL so I am Hard coding it

Thanks
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Try "DATE('9999-12-31')"
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Append to above Post :
:cry:
Or any other option to perform same logic I mean to perform Update and then insert.
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Did you try Inserting from command line? Does that work? Have you tried just insert and just update?
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Thanks
Have you tried just insert and just update?
Yes both are working.

Thanks
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Did you try ArndW's suggestion?
Alternatively, do all the hardcoding in the transformer and dont hardcode anything inside the sql.
Are you getting any sql codes along with your error message, including the warning messages?
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Thanks
Did you try ArndW's suggestion?
Yes

I want to Update and Insert both at one pass ( I mean 1st do some update to Target Table then Insert new Record)
Are you getting any sql codes along with your error message, including the warning messages?
No

Thanks a lot
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

ArndW wrote:What are your column definitions? At least one of these is incorrect for DataStage.
Post the reply for ArndW's question. There is little we can do sitting on the other side of your screen. Try making the date column as varchar and see if that helps.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Post Reply