Error : Not bounded length

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Error : Not bounded length

Post by swades »

Hi,
I try to read about following error message in this forum but I didnt find.

What this error message implies ?
Any help Please

Error :
APT_CombinedOperatorController(2),1: Fatal Error: Not bounded length.
Thanks
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

What is the design and objective of your job? Are there any other surrounding warning messages? Provide more information.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Are you providing the lengths of all the varchar fields?
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

It means that there is at least one field in your job design defined as VarChar but without a Precision (maximum length) value.

While this is legal in some places (for example Data Set stages) it is not legal in others. Whichever operator governed by your particular combined operator controller is complaining about an unbounded string can not be determined without disabling operator combination. But you can just check for VarChar fields without a precision value and provide this value.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

ray.wurlod wrote:It means that there is at least one field in your job design defined as VarChar but without a Precision (maximum length) value.
Didn't know that. 8) Thanks! Ray.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Thanks Ray and DSguru2B

I resolve that issue,
I column grid I forget to specify varchar length. that I corrected now working fine.

Thanks
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Time to mark the post as "Resolved"
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

BUT now I am getting following Fatal:

Fatal:
APT_CombinedOperatorController,3: [DataDirect][ODBC lib] Program type out of range
I am writing to DB2 table via ODBC stage using userdefine query.

I set APT_DISABLE_COMBINATION to True but still same Fatal.

Thanks
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Check here for a similar issue.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Thanks

I read that forum which says to set APT_DISABLE_COMBINATION to True.
I did that but still I am getting that. Fatal

Thanks
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

swades - the APT_DISABLE_COMBINATION switch is used in this case to help locate the stage that is causing your problem. But there is no need to do so, since your original error is telling you that it occurs in the ODBC stage.

Is this the source stage? What are your column definitions? At least one of these is incorrect for DataStage.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Don't you find any other error/warning message along with this?
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Additional error messages would help. Did you try setting it back to "generated sql"? See if that works, once you get that part working then you can analyze how different is your sql and the generated one. Analyze in regards to any syntax or data type conversion being done.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Hi,
I am using ODBD stage as Target Stage. I am doing Upsert Mode, Update and then Insert.

Update Query:
UPDATE
Table_name
SET
EFF_DT = ORCHESTRATE.EFF_DT,
EXP_DT = ORCHESTRATE.EXP_DT,
C_CD = ORCHESTRATE.C_CD
WHERE
(Table_name.SUB_NM = ORCHESTRATE.SUB_NM)
AND Insert Query :
NSERT INTO Table_name
( SUB_NM, G_SK, EFF_DT,EXP_DT, C_CD, A_SK)

VALUES
(
ORCHESTRATE.SUB_NM,
ORCHESTRATE.G_SK ,
CURRENT DATE,
'9999-12-31',
'C',
ORCHESTRATE.A_SK
)
Please help me to implement this. Insert is working but Update not and I am getting following Fatal :
DataDirect][ODBC lib] Program type out of range
Thanks a lot
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Is it because your missing an "I" from Insert :?
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Post Reply