ETLStats question

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
abc123
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:24 am

ETLStats question

Post by abc123 »

I downloaded Kim Duke's EtlStats_20060704.zip. However, I am not sure as to how I should go about installing it. I see a file called ETLStatsInstall.txt and another one called ETLStatsInstall2.txt. ETLStatsInstall.txt starts as follows:

"You need to create some files at TCL. Probably DataStage Administrator
is the easiest. You can also telnet into your DataStage server and get
to TCL."

The instructions are not very clear. There are no step by step instructions. Can anybody help? Kim Duke?
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

You need to telnet into to your DataStage server. Ken posted the code to get to a TCL prompt.

Code: Select all

export DSHOME=`cat /.dshome`
cd $DSHOME
export PATH=$PATH:$DSHOME/bin
. ./dsenv
dssh
The > is the TCL prompt. You need to Quit to get out of the DataStage engine.

Next

LOGTO MyProject

I would do:

PTERM CASE NOINVERT

Now you can cut and paste these lines into TCL:

CREATE.FILE Scripts 19
CREATE.FILE SqlScripts 19
CREATE.FILE KimD 19
CREATE.FILE Sql2Html 19
CREATE.FILE Staging 19
CREATE.FILE Rejects 19
CREATE.FILE Source 19

Follow the rest of the instruictions.

Import the jobs. Post when you get this done.
Mamu Kim
splayer
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 5:01 pm

Post by splayer »

What is TCL? I know the L stands for Language? So I execute these lines at the LINUX prompt:

1)export DSHOME=`cat /.dshome`
2)cd $DSHOME
3)export PATH=$PATH:$DSHOME/bin
4). ./dsenv
5)dssh
kris007
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: Riverside, RI

Post by kris007 »

splayer wrote: What is TCL?
Tool Command Language.
Kris

Where's the "Any" key?-Homer Simpson
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

After executing dssh in an apporpriate directory (one the is the DS engine directory or a project directory, containing a VOC file in either case) the prompt changes to ">". This prompt signifies that you are working in the TCL (terminal command language) environment. You return to the UNIX shell by executing one of the commands QUIT, LO, LOGOFF or OFF.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
abc123
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:24 am

Post by abc123 »

kim, I tried the following:

I executed
1)export DSHOME=`cat /.dshome`
from my home direcroy.

I get a message:
cat: /.dshome: No such file or directory

I executed:
2)cd $DSHOME
I get the prompt back but when I do a pwd, I get the same path as I was in before.

Also, can you explain what these 5 lines are doing?

Thanks.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Apparently nothing. :wink:

Are you sure you are executing these commands on the server where DataStage is installed? :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
abc123
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:24 am

Post by abc123 »

Yes, from what I know. I am doing this on our dev box. Also, I would like to know, can I do any damage of these commands?

I am a developer and not a DS Admin. If needed, I can have my admin execute these commands for me.

Thanks.
abc123
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:24 am

Post by abc123 »

I meant can I do any damage with these commands?
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

These commands create files that would only be used within DataStage; so there is no potential for damage outside of DS and I can't see any potential within DS, either.
Post Reply