1403: update record not found

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
arun_im4u
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:42 am

1403: update record not found

Post by arun_im4u »

I am loading data into oracle via upsert and some records are being rejected into my reject file with the code -1403.

What does "code -1403: update record not found" mean???

If the record already exists then i want to update it. The table is an empty table.

Any help is appreciated.

Arun.
Last edited by arun_im4u on Fri Sep 15, 2006 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Try switching from "Update record or insert" to "Insert new records or update".
I have found different results with those two options, all though they might come accross as strikingly similar.
Also, make sure the key(s) are properly defined
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
vinaymanchinila
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:45 am

Post by vinaymanchinila »

Hi,
I am loading into an Oracle table and out of 200 rows , 25 get rejected with SQL code 1403 so I changed the upsert method from "Insert then Update" to "Update then Insert", now all the 200 are rejected with
ORA-01458: invalid length inside variable character string !


Is there any other way to avoid the 1403 error code apart from changing the order of the loading.

Thanks,
Thanks,
Vinay
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Code: Select all

ORA-01458 invalid length inside variable character string

Cause: An attempt was made to bind or define a variable character string with a buffer length less than the minimum requirement.

Action: Increase the buffer size or use a different type.
Is ther any way, the columns are been mapped wrongly in database stage.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You can learn about Oracle errors using the oerr command on the server. For example

Code: Select all

oerr ORA 1403
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply