Unknown Exception from runlocally()

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
aniruddha.joglekar
Participant
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:28 am

Unknown Exception from runlocally()

Post by aniruddha.joglekar »

Hi,


We are facing following problem when trying to run very simple job.

Job reads information from a SQL server table and upserts into another table. No processing happens in between. As a standard practice we are using a PX Transformer to pass data through (without any change to format, length etc.)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
When running the job, we are getting following error:
main_program: APT configuration file: E:/ascential/datastage/Configurations/default.apt
APT_CombinedOperatorController,0: Caught unknown exception from runLocally(). Operator signalled one or more errors.
APT_CombinedOperatorController,0: Operator terminated abnormally: runLocally did not return APT_StatusOk
main_program: Step execution finished with status = FAILED.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Configuration file for the project looks like this :

*************************************************************
{
node "node1"
{
fastname "2K5"
pools ""
resource disk "e:/ascential/datastage/Datasets" { pools "" }
resource scratchdisk "e:/ascential/datastage/Scratch" { pools "" }
}
}

*************************************************************

We tried cleaning up resources, locks on the job. But it has not acquired any locks, resources and hence does not show anything up. We restarted Datastage services. then the server as well but still it is of no help.

Has any 1 faced similar problem?

Thanks,
Aniruddha
Krazykoolrohit
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:36 am
Location: Ohio

Post by Krazykoolrohit »

Do you have any warnings. check for rows before you got these errors.
aniruddha.joglekar
Participant
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:28 am

Post by aniruddha.joglekar »

No warnings at all.

Just after loading of configuration file, I get this error and job aborts.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Can a network name legally begin with a non-alphabetic character?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
aniruddha.joglekar
Participant
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:28 am

Post by aniruddha.joglekar »

May be it works.

I changed the job to remove transformer and update directly into target table. Then the job works perfectly alright.

Problem seems to be with usage of transformer.

Any idea why this could be heappening?

Aniruddha
mctny
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:55 am

Post by mctny »

is it a basic transformer stage or regular?
Thanks,
Chad
__________________________________________________________________
"There are three kinds of people in this world; Ones who know how to count and the others who don't know how to count !"
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Try to set the option APT_DISABLE_COMBINABLE to True and use back the transformer and check.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
aniruddha.joglekar
Participant
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:28 am

Post by aniruddha.joglekar »

I'm using regular transformer.

Kumar, as per your suggestion changed the parameter and tried running the job.

Job is not aborting now, however the same error continues.
No records are getting inserted/updated.

In addition to error message, following warning is reported now:
ODBC_Enterprise_10,0: runLocally() did not reach EOF on its input dataset 0. [api\operator_rep.C:3952]

Regards,
Aniruddha
Post Reply