Issuuing abort after 50 logs

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Issuuing abort after 50 logs

Post by kumar_s »

Hi,
Iam getting huge number of warnings.
Once it reaches more that 50 number of log error (warnings) it spits out with an Fatal error of "issuuing abort after 50 logs".
This all happens in our new project and which was not there i previous project.
I understant there is some settings to be chaged.
May i know how?

regards
kumar
vmcburney
Participant
Posts: 3593
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 5:25 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by vmcburney »

It all depends on what warning messages you are getting.

You shouldn't be getting any warnings. At worst you should be getting a handful of warnings due to a null handling or implicit conversion clash that doesn't cause any harm.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

yes,
iam getting null handling warnings and that too in thousands.
this was just exported from development environment to testing environment. And this error came up only in testing environment.

regards
kumar
dsxdev
Participant
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 8:37 am

Post by dsxdev »

Hi,
You can reduce the number of warning by changing the metadata.
if you still get lot of warnings you can abort the job after 50 or more warnings.
For this
you can set limit on warnings while runing from Designer or Director by setting limits in limits page of window that pops up when you run the job.

if you run the job using dsjob utility from Unix command lline then use -warn option with dsjob command

Code: Select all

$DSHOME/dsjob -run -warn <no of warnings> <project> <job name>
This will abort the job after specified no of warnings have ocured.
Happy DataStaging
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

If running a job from Director you can set the number of warnings before an abort on the Limits tab of the Job Run Options dialog.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Hi,
May i know how to set this limit from unix command prompt.
from dsjob -run ...command.
(it does not gives me error when i call from director, mised this vital information.)

regards
kumar
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Hi,

I could find the command is
dsjob ... -warn n...
Cant we set that n to no limt, as we have in director.

regards
kumar
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

It also gives me some more error like
XFM010,0: Failure during execution of operator logic.
Which was not in while we run from client director.

regards
kumar
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

kumar_s wrote:Cant we set that n to no limt, as we have in director.
-warn 0

(That's a zero, btw)
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

chulett wrote:
kumar_s wrote:Cant we set that n to no limt, as we have in director.
-warn 0

(That's a zero, btw)
Thanx chulett,
That really worked. Thanks

regards
kumar
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

kumar_s wrote:It also gives me some more error like
XFM010,0: Failure during execution of operator logic.
Which was not in while we run from client director.

regards
kumar
Is there any input to this :roll:

regards
kumar
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

It's completely unrelated to the thread topic. Please start a new thread.

When posting, please include any diagnostic approach you may already have taken, so that you're not wasting our time repeating the same.

What is the message telling you? In particular, what do you understand by:
  • XFM010

    ,0

    operator logic
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
vmcburney
Participant
Posts: 3593
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 5:25 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by vmcburney »

I couldn't see a new thread for your "Failure during execution of operator logic" however it is almost certainly related to your NULL value problem. When you moved to test you started to see a huge number of NULL value warning messages, probably because your test database has different data to your dev database. The warning is telling you that a null was found in a field where one was not expected. If you then try to use this field in a transformer calculation you can get the operator logic error.

You need to analyse your test data to work out why you are getting so many null values. If those null values are valid you need to add null handling to your job such as transformer NullToValue functions or Modify stage handle_null functions.

As I said originally you should not be getting 50+ warnings in your job, this is a poorly designed job that is not production ready, you need to keep your 50 warning limit in place and fix the source of the warnings.
ameyvaidya
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:52 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Switch off RCP flag at the project level.

Post by ameyvaidya »

Hi kumar_s,
Check if both projects have the same setting for Enable Runtime Column Propogation for Parallel Jobs. I suspect that this may have been switched off in the Dev Project and on in the testing project.

If this is true, recompiling jobs in the testing project would have removed all modify operators present in the compiled jobs in the Dev project and would be the source of the warnings.

Amey.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Hi Amey,
I toggled beteen enabling and disabling RCP :x
Atlast Disabled in both the project :cry:

regards
kumar
Post Reply