Error importing metadata from Oracle server

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Prakashs
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:43 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Error importing metadata from Oracle server

Post by Prakashs »

We are configuring Datastage v7.5 EE on RH Linux for Oracle 9i.

I have taken the following steps to configure.

1) Updated uvodbc.config available in the project library with the following codes.

<Ruttora>
DBMSTYPE = ODBC


2) Removed all the comments from odbc.ini available in branded_odbc and
added the following codes.

[Ruttora]
Driver=#branded_odbc/lib/VMora19.so
Description=
ApplicationUsingThreads=1
ArrySize=60000
CachedCursorLimit=32
CachedDesLimit=0
CatalogIncludesSynonyms=1
CatalogOptions=0
DefaultLongdataBuffLen=1024
DescribeAtPrepare=0
EnableDescribeParam=0
EnableNcharSupport=0
EnableScrollableCursors=1
EnableStaticCursorForLongData=0
EnableTimestampWithTimeZone=0
HostName= Ip address
LocalTimeZoneoffset=
LOCKTimeOut=-1
LogonID=userid on oracle server
Password=
PortNumber=1521
ProcedureRetResults=0
SID=ODBCSOL
UseCurrentSchema=1


3) Updated dsenv in DSEngine and added the following codes.

TNS_ADMIN= /opt/oracle/app/oracle
export TNS_ADMIN

ORACLE_HOME=/opt/oracle/app/oracle
export ORACLE_HOME

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib
export LD_LIBRARY_HOME


4) checked .dslibs in root point to branded_odbc/lib


While importing metadata we are getting the following errors:

a) ODBC Error:

DSR.MetaGeta(GET.TABLES)(SQLConnect(Ruttora,woc):BCI Error:
SQLSTATE=01000,CODE=0,[DataStage][SQL Client] [ODBC]


b) Plugin Oracle OCI

Unable to initialize plug-in

c) Orclestrate Schema

##I TCDU 000005 14:35:27(001) <main_program> Unable to access database {0}DB type 'oracle' presumed to be oracle.
##E TCDU 000002 14:35:27(002) <main_program> Unable to access database {0}Oracle: not present
##E TCDU 000006 14:35:27(003) <main_program> Unable to access database {0}Unable to load library 'orchoracle'.


Any help in resolving the above connection problem would be highly appreciated.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Check that the 32-bit Oracle library occurs ahead of the 64-bit library in LD_LIBRARY_PATH.

Make sure that you export LD_LIBRARY_PATH, not LD_LIBRARY_HOME.

Also make sure in dsenv that there's no space either side of the "=" character when setting values for environment variables.

And what's the "#" in front of branded_odbc in the first line of the data source definition?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Prakashs
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:43 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Prakashs »

Thanks Ray.

I have problem with both Server and Parallel jobs.

Apart from the above four steps is there any further steps I am missing ?
elavenil
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 10:20 pm
Location: Singapore

Post by elavenil »

Library path should include lib32, bin and rdbms/lib32 directories in the Oracle home directory.

Execute the DSENV file to ensure all the required path set.

HTWH.

Regards
Saravanan
Eric
Participant
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 4:35 am

Post by Eric »

You need to add the Oracle bin directory to your path environment:

PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/bin; export PATH

Check the setup sections of the Docs, remember that ODBC (wired and non-wired), Plug-ins and PX stages al lhave their own setup instructions.
Post Reply