Running Multiple jobs simutaneously in a sequencer

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
als110
Participant
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:21 am
Location: United States

Running Multiple jobs simutaneously in a sequencer

Post by als110 »

We have a few sequencers where it does not matter if multipe jobs run at the same time. When we try to do this however, data stage only runs one job in the sequence at a time. Does anyone have any suggestions.

The sequence looks as follows


3
1 > 2 > > 5
4

All this does is to run 3 then it runs 4 they run fine but it would be nice to have them both run at the same time.

thanks

Aaron
T42
Participant
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:45 pm

Post by T42 »

Are you using the sequencer stage?

Code: Select all

A ----+
       |
B -----S--->
       |
C ----+
S is the sequencer stage here. The Sequencer should kick off Job A, B, and C at the same time.
als110
Participant
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:21 am
Location: United States

Post by als110 »

No we are using routine activities to call the jobs
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Why use a Routine Activity stage to do that when there is a specific Job Activity stage available? :?

If you lay it out like T42 showed, running the three links into a Sequencer set to 'All' with your other jobs downstream from there, the three jobs will run simultaneously and will only move onto the fourth job when all three have finished.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chucksmith
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:43 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Post by chucksmith »

So if you want to run routine, create a sequence that only runs the routine, and then call this new sequencer using a JobActivity stage in your current sequencer, as T42 described.

ROUTINE ACTIVITY STAGES RUN SERIALLY IN SEQUENCERS, REGARDLESS OF HOW YOU DRAW YOUR LINKS!
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

Hi,
How ever you may look at it running multiple processes from 1 process can't be truely parallel, so the job sequence runs 1 process (not waiting for it to finish) then the 2nd one, 3rd .... and if it needs to wait for any job at a givven point (i.e. at the end of the job flow) it will then wait for all activities to finish.
so if by the time you get to start your 2nd job if the 1st is already done you might get what was described by the original post.

now if those routines fire jobs without waiting for them to finish this might even be the expected behaviour for short routines.

IHTH,
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
Post Reply