Migrate server routines to parallel

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

kumarjit
Participant

Migrate server routines to parallel

Post by kumarjit »

Hi there.

I am undertaking a project assignment to convert a set of Server Routines into parallel ones, but I have never worked on routines before, and I am totally unaware of the server routine constructs.

The logic of one of the server routines that I need to replicate is given below.
This routine will run a job(I am interpreting this a executing the DSJOB command) that reads records from a source file and loads it into a target table.

I am not able to find an tutorial/IBM documentation in this regard.
Its an earnest request to all to give me a lead/share any online resource to get things rolling at least. :)

Warm Regards,
Kumarjit,
Pain is the best teacher, but very few attend his class..
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Why? The places where those server routines are used really don't support parallel versions. :? And there is no "given below", wondering if you meant to post the BASIC code.

What kind of help are you looking for, the BASIC reference? If so, there is this online reference and as it mentions you also have (or can get) the InfoSphere DataStage BASIC Reference Guide pdf.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kumarjit
Participant

Post by kumarjit »

@Craig: The answer for "Why" would be a decision by the client and my company, I am only a way to implement it.
As far as providing a sample logic goes, I cannot paste the actual server routine code here in this forum, hence I quoted it as a "logic" of the code piece rather than code itself.