Page 1 of 1

Assign parameter obtained through web service

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 10:45 am
by babbu9
Hi
I have a Sequence that needs an input parameter that must be assigned dynamically. The Sequence is called through a Job (through job control) which inturn is called through a webservice. The webservice passes the parameter which must be passed down to the Sequence. How do we achieve this?

Here is the sequence of activities:
Webservice call with input parameter > Job call Seq with job control > Sequence>multiples Jobs.

Please inform.

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 11:12 am
by asorrell
Since you don't give any details as to what the web service actually is, or what interfaces it provides, or how the job sequence is being executed, it is difficult to assist with your problem.

However, one way is to talk to your "web service" expert and ask them how to get the parameter you need written to a file on your server. That file can then be read via an execute command stage in the sequencer to get "the option".

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 11:45 am
by chulett
Sounds like a parameter set with value files to me. If you are the one calling the web service, seems like you could direct the output there...

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 12:12 pm
by babbu9
To add more detail we have configured a webservice through Information services director which needs an input parameter that must be captured and passed on to the underlying Job and Sequence. A third party application( not datastage) will invoke the webservice through a wsdl and will be providing the input parameter.

Here is the complete order of events:
1.third party app with input parameter invokes wsdl
2 Job with logic to capture the input parameter: This job uses job control to execute the main sequence. I would like to capture the parameter and write to a file and thereafter read the parameter downstream, but since the job control executes first in the job,the parameter is being captured after the load is complete rather than before it.
3. Main Sequence that needs the parameter.

How can we make sure that the parameter is captured before the main sequence is invoked.

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 5:39 am
by eostic
...one way is to create a simple Server Job that uses the DSUtilityRunJob routine in a Transformer.......have thst simple Job call your Sequence....and then also publish THAT simple Job as an ISD Service......have the 3rd party app invoke your new service inmediately after receiving the desired parameter from the other service.

Ernie

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:45 am
by babbu9
Thanks for the reply. Can you please inform the format for the DSUtilityRunJob with an example. I have searched the documentation and could not find any reference to it.

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 12:32 pm
by chulett
See if this post helps. There should be others as well.