Page 1 of 1

orchadmin utility

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:43 am
by hank_moody
I can view dataset (*.ds) in designer client of DataStage.
But I can't view dataset in AIX using orchadmin utility.

$ export DSHOME=$(cat /.dshome)
$. $DSHOME/dsenv
$ export LIBPATH =$APT_ORCHHOME/lib
$ export APT_CONFIG_FILE=$DSHOME/../Configurations/default.apt
$ export PATH=$DSHOME/bin:$APT_ORCHHOME/bin:/$PATH
$ orchadmin dump file1.ds


##I IIS-DSEE-TUTL-00031 16:09:57(001) <main_program> The open files limit is 2000; raising to 1048575.
##I IIS-DSEE-TFCN-00006 16:09:57(002) <main_program> conductor uname: -s=AIX; -r=1; -v=6; -n=servname; -m=0008784AD400
##F IIS-DSEE-TFCF-00014 16:09:57(003) <main_program> Fatal Error: The configuration does not contain the invoking node servname.


I changed in Configurations/default.apt a value of fastname: "servname.xxxx.yy.zzzz"-> "servname".
But in AUX I got the same error. And Jobs in DS stopped working with next errors:

main_program: The section leader on servname died
main_program: **** Parallel startup failed ****This is usually due to a configuration error, such as not having the Orchestrate install directory properly mounted on all nodes, rsh permissions not correctly set (via /etc/hosts.equiv or .rhosts), or running from a directory that is not mounted on all nodes. Look for error messages in the preceding output.
main_program: Unable to contact one or more Section Leaders. Probable configuration problem; contact Orchestrate system administrator.
main_program: Step execution finished with status = FAILED.
...
Where I'm wrong?

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
by PaulVL
You have:

export LIBPATH =$APT_ORCHHOME/lib
export PATH=$DSHOME/bin:$APT_ORCHHOME/bin:/$PATH

try:

export LIBPATH =$APT_ORCHHOME/lib:$LIBPATH
export PATH=$DSHOME/bin:$APT_ORCHHOME/bin:$PATH

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:41 pm
by ray.wurlod
... and, before that:
export APT_ORCHHOME=$DSHOME/../PXEngine

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:23 am
by hank_moody
Thanks for answers.
But error persists. (The configuration does not contain the invoking node servname.)
I created copy of defaul.apt (fastname: "servname.xxxx.yy.zzzz") and named it default_servname.apt. (in this file fastname: "servname")
My variables:
export APT_CONFIG_FILE=/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/../Configurations/default_servname.apt
export APT_ORCHHOME=/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/../PXEngine
export ASBHOME=/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/ASBNode
export DSHOME=/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine
export LIBPATH=/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/../PXEngine/lib:LIBPATH
export ODBCINI=/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/.odbc.ini
export PATH=/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin:/opt/dsadm/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/../PXEngine/bin:/opt/dsadm/sybase/IQ/IQ-15_2/bin64:/opt/dsadm/sybase/ASE157/OCS-15_0/bin:/usr/bin:/etc:/usr/sbin:/usr/ucb:/home/iuad123/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/sbin:.:/opt/isadm/oracle/ora10g/bin:/opt/isadm/oracle/ora10g/bin:/opt/isadm/oracle/ora10g/OPatch:/opt/isadm/oracle/ora10g/jdk/bin:/opt/oracle/oradata/agent10g/bin

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:57 am
by qt_ky
Try the following:

1. Output from command "uname -n"

2. The config file fastname, for each node, should match the above output

3. The /etc/hosts file should contain one or more hostnames (short and/or long versions) that match the above output and resolve to the same IP address

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:01 pm
by ray.wurlod
Or, perhaps, specify the -x option with your orchadmin command.

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:55 pm
by PaulVL
You mentioned that the config file did not contain the invoking node.

Please look at the APT file that is being used. When doing the orchadmin... echo your APT_CONFIG_FILE prior to the command. What does it look like? Does it have the calling node???


Just because you are pointing to "defalut.apt" doesn't mean it's right.

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:37 am
by ArndW
Often when the config.apt contains a syntax error of some type the error message will be the one you are getting; perhaps your problem lies elsewhere in the config. (side note - we had this problem just yesterday, where the configuration file contained a single spurious "?" character that we didn't see.

Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:04 am
by hank_moody
Thanks, everyone.
"orchadmin dump -x file1.ds" works!