Page 1 of 1

Multiple DataStage Versions on Same Server

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:40 am
by jerome_rajan
We have DataStage 8.1 and DataStage 9.1 installed on the same server. All jobs were migrated from 8.1 to 9.1. When I try to execute a job from CLI using dsjob, the job in 8.1 repository runs and not the one in 9.1.

Am I missing something?

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:00 am
by qt_ky
Make sure the /.dshome file got deleted. I usually just rename it.

Make sure $DSHOME env var is set correctly.

When you call dsjob, use the -domain and -server arguments with the correct names and port numbers.

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:37 am
by jerome_rajan
I renamed the /.dshome to /.8.1dshome and /.9.1dshome for the respective versions. Checked the $DSHOME variable. Was as expected.

I'm not sure I understand what should go into the -domain and -server arguments since both installations are on the same server

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:40 pm
by ray.wurlod
Are you running the 8.1 dsjob command?

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:01 pm
by jerome_rajan
Nope. I ran

Code: Select all

`cat /.9.1dshome`/bin/dsjob

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:08 pm
by chulett
That just means you ran the executable from the 9.1 directory and I doubt there's anything different between it and the one under the 8.1 directory. I would be curious what environment you have loaded. Did you source the 9.1 dsenv before you executed that command?

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:23 pm
by jerome_rajan
I'm sorry Craig. I am yet to renew my membership.
If you're asking me what environment I've loaded then I'm not sure how that needs to be done. Which probably means we are still on 8.1.

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:31 pm
by chulett
Un-marked.

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:51 pm
by jerome_rajan
Thank you, Craig.
I sourced the 9.1 dsenv file using

Code: Select all

 . `cat /.9.1dshome`/dsenv
I also checked the $DSHOME and it points correctly to the DS9 home.

Image

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:53 am
by qt_ky
Try
-domain 9.x_server:port
and
-server 9.x_engine:port

Ex.
-domain abc9.def.ghi.com:9080
(or port 9443, etc. - port of services tier)
and
-server ABC9:31539
(or if default engine port 31538 is used, leave port number off)

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:12 am
by jerome_rajan
Awesome! Used the auth file to store all domain/server/user/pass details and managed to get it running. Thank you all

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:21 am
by jerome_rajan
Just have one final follow-up question.

We actually managed to execute using the below command. We did this so that there wouldn't be a need to use the auth file.

Code: Select all

dsjob -server :31539 -run -mode ......
My question is - what needs to be done to run the dsjob without even the server parameter just like the 8.1 installation on 31538 runs?

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:00 am
by qt_ky
My understanding is that you would have to install 9.x onto a server and go with default port numbers in that installation.