How Long Does it Take to learn Datastage for ETL project

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

ingcariere
Participant

How Long Does it Take to learn Datastage for ETL project

Post by ingcariere »

Hi,
Im new in Datastage, I want know how much time in general I need to learn Datastage for an ETL project, one week ? a month ? a year ?
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Welcome.

That's a pretty wide open question and can depend quite a bit on the person. It can also depend on how much "computer" experience (programming, UNIX, scripting, etc) you've had and if you've used a different ETL tool before. I'd say in general that it doesn't take much time to "learn" an ETL tool, DataStage included. You can get a good foundation in a week with the proper setting, say like an official class. And then you can spend the rest of your career learning new or subtle things. :wink:

Assuming (again) that 'proper setting' with a mentor and actual work to do, you'll know if someone is picking things up in... oh, a month or two. Left to ones own devices? Hard to say in that case.

My two cents.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chandra.shekhar@tcs.com
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by chandra.shekhar@tcs.com »

As Ray said, there's no straight forward answer to that.
I think it takes atleast 4-5 months to have good knowledge about datastage. Obviously practical knowledge is a must.
It also depends upon the grasping power of the person.
I have 4 years exp in datastage and I still consider myself in the learning phase.
Thanx and Regards,
ETL User
FranklinE
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by FranklinE »

I had the privilege of taking the advanced course from Ray Daignault. As a rule of thumb, I take his word for it: one should have at least six months of full-time experience with DS before taking the advanced course.