Page 1 of 1

JOB ID In datastage

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:50 pm
by ntr
Hi ,

Please help me where i need to check Job id ..


Regards,
ntr

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:58 pm
by PaulVL
EASY way to find it is to open director, open the job, double click on any log entry in the job, and read the field that says JOB ID.

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:01 pm
by bhasds
or

execute the command

Code: Select all

LIST DS_JOBS WITH @ID=job_name


in administrator command prompt

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:07 pm
by ntr
Small confusion Please help me JOB ID and JOB NO Same ?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:20 pm
by bhasds
Hi ntr,

If you are searching with the job number, then you can search with the job number in the DS_JOBS table-

Code: Select all

SELECT NAME FROM DS_JOBS WHERE JOBNO = 'job_number';

The above query can be executed in administrator command prompt.

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:25 pm
by ntr
Thanks for your repaly...

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:07 pm
by chulett
ntr wrote:Small confusion Please help me JOB ID and JOB NO Same ?
No, they are not. JOB ID is something I've never had an occassion to use but from what I remember is a user-defined ID that you manually assign to a particular job. Then dsjob can start the job by name or ID.

This is also different from the @ID mentioned earlier...

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:25 pm
by ray.wurlod
The best way to think of job ID is as an "alias" for the real job name. As Craig notes, there's no requirement at all to use it, but it's sometimes useful where the real job names are long/unwieldy.