BatchNo,Message Type,Message Detail info using Routine

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

DSRajesh
Premium Member
Premium Member

BatchNo,Message Type,Message Detail info using Routine

Post by DSRajesh »

Dear All,

I need to get the below datastage log information when ever i run the datastage job and store into oracle table.

Job Name,Start Time,End Time,BatchNo,Message Type,Message detail information .

I am new to Routines and please suggest the routine which will return the above information pertain to a datastage job.
RD
DSRajesh
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by DSRajesh »

Hi Arndw/chullet

Can you please help me here in writing the routine.
RD
ArndW
Participant

Post by ArndW »

While Craig and many others here can get you started, why not download the free ETLStats from Kim Duke's website which should cover the functionality you need?
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Also note there is far more than a single "routine" needed to do this. And you need to plan out your methodology before you start any coding. For example, how will you be interfacing this log gathering to your jobs? Meaning, will you add something "after job" to every job [shudder] or will you build a system that gets this information as a separate / discrete step after your loads complete? Where / how will that data be staged? Once it has been staged, how will it be loaded into your Oracle logging table?

ETLStats will give you a solid foundation which you can build upon... or you can decide to roll your own. Also note that everything you can do via routines can be done from the command line via dsjob so that's another alternative if you would prefer shell scripts over a BASIC routine.
Last edited by chulett on Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
DSRajesh
Premium Member