Page 1 of 1

DS job is getting failed when executing through shell script

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:42 am
by ajithaselvan
Hi,
Need helping hand for below issue.

I'm trying to run DS job using shell scripts.But It fails with below error code.

ERROR: Failed to open project
Status code = -1010 DSJE_DOMAINLOGTOFAILED.

I have done below work around as suggested in this forum.
1. echoing DS command
echo DS_HOME_DIR/bin/dsjob -domain DS_DOMAIN -server DS_SERVER -user DS_USER -password DS_PASSWD -run PJT JOB.

proper values are getting passed

2. before running the dsjob command dsenv is sourced.
3. replacing Domain value as NONE

But still couldn't identify where the issue is.....

Regards,

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:20 am
by pandeesh
What happens if you omit domain switch and run?

Code: Select all

dsjob -server DS_SERVER:port -user DS_USER -password DS_PASSWD -run PJT JOB
try this and let us know if you face any error.

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:47 pm
by ajithaselvan
Job is exiting with error code 0. But it is not at all connected to the job

Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:49 am
by ray.wurlod
No, dsjob is exiting, because it lacks a -jobstatus or -wait option. Meanwhile the job continues running.

Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:33 am
by ajithaselvan
Ray,
I tried executing with adding job status and wait. But getting same error

ERROR: Failed to open project
Status code = -1010 DSJE_DOMAINLOGTOFAILED

Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:41 am
by chulett
You add -wait or -jobstatus, not both. And have you noticed the "port" needed after the SERVER entry now? Post your current syntax so we have some idea what you are doing now.

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:03 am
by ajithaselvan
Craig,
Pls find my syntax below

/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin/dsjob -domain $domain -server $server -user $user -password $pwd -run -wait -jobstatus pjt_name job_name

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:08 am
by pandeesh
Hi,
Please try this:

Code: Select all

/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin/dsjob  -server $server:port -user $user -password $pwd -run -jobstatus pjt_name job_name 
post if you get any error,
Make sure your server name should contains the port number too,

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:39 am
by ajithaselvan
One of my other project mates had faced the same issue..... but the
solution given to him is to add the user to system user group of his project.
Issue got reolved once he added the user to this group.

In my case, I have added my userid to the system group of my project. but still the problem persisting.
Will it be a issue with giving permissions to the user? Am I going right way?

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:15 am
by pandeesh
Have you tried the code which I posted?
If so,please post the error what you are getting..
If you post the error,it will help us to help you.

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:02 am
by ajithaselvan
H Pandeesh,
I have tried your code... but still getting the same error
ERROR: Failed to open project

Status code = -1010 DSJE_DOMAINLOGTOFAILED

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:33 am
by chulett
I'm going to take a wild, crazy guess that you need to add the "-domain" option back in... with a proper domain value. I'm also curious if there are any "special characters" in your userid and/or password.