Email Notification

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

cp2098
Premium Member
Premium Member

Email Notification

Post by cp2098 »

Hi,
I'm a bit new to DataStage so please bear with me. I need to send an email notification when a lookup rejects a file. Does anyone know the easiest way to implement this?

Thanks!
rajeevm
Participant

Post by rajeevm »

I think you can do it a job sequence . You can give the status of the job whether its failed or completed. You can even give the multiple recipients names seperated by a comma.
cp2098
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by cp2098 »

Since the job only "rejects" the rows that are not found in the lookup and the results are sent to a reject file via a reject link and the process continues then the status of the job is considered complete. What I want to do is to be able to send an email if there are rejects within that file. So the process should continue regardless of the rejects, I just want to notify someone that there were rejects and that they should have a look at those rejects.
rajeevm wrote:I think you can do it a job sequence . You can give the status of the job whether its failed or completed. You can even give the multiple recipients names seperated by a comma.
koolsun85
Participant

Post by koolsun85 »

Use After Job Subroutine DSSendMail to send an email and attach the rejected file in the job itself.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Or build a Sequence job. A Routine Activity can check to see if anything was written down the reject link, or a Command Activity can check the size/row count of the file. If a non-zero value is found, the Notification Activity can be triggered to send an email and attach the file as well.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
cp2098
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by cp2098 »