Page 1 of 1

Sequence Abort with message Attempting to Cleanup after ABOR

Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:45 am
by uegodawa
Hi.
I've a sequence job which iterates 12 hours to monitor some datastage jobs are executed sucessfully or not. After 30 or 40 minutes job failes with message "Attempting to Cleanup after ABORT raised in stage seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl".
Command executed previous to this message was "Unix sed " command;

seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@StartLoop2): Loop from 1 to 9 step 1: iteration 5

seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Executed: sed -n -e 5p /opt/bi/data/rss/work/SP_MON_JOBS.txt 2>/dev/null
Reply=0
Output from command ====>
INFINITY,Load_RSS_Infinity_Exec_SP_To_Stg

I've checked/unchecked following properties in sequence to make some difference, unfortunately it didn't worked for me.
1.Add checkpoints so sequence is restartable on failure
2. Automatically handle activities that fail.

Can somebody help me to figure out the issue on this situation?

Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:53 am
by chulett
Can you post the actual, unedited abort error message please?

Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:59 pm
by uegodawa
These are the couple of messages from bottom to top with regarding to issue;

Job seq_SP_MONITOR aborted.
Attempting to Cleanup after ABORT raised in stage seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Checkpointed execution of command 'sed'
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Executed: sed -n -e 5p /opt/bi/data/rss/work/SP_MON_JOBS.txt
Reply=0
Output from command ====>
INFINITY,Load_RSS_Infinity_Exec_SP_To_Stg
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@StartLoop2): Loop from 1 to 9 step 1: iteration 5
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Checkpointed execution of command 'sed'

Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:45 pm
by chulett
So... nothing that says something about a "Controller problem: Unhandled failure"? :?

Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:36 am
by uegodawa
Next stage in this sequence after unix 'sed' command is datastage routine named 'GetJobInfo' .
I'm not sure this controller issue coming from that routine. I've handled both triggers [ Failed-[Conditional] and Otherwise ] ; Below code is inside that routone.

* Routine : GetJobInfo
* Return Job stats
* Arg1 - Name of the Job
* 0 - Job Is Running 1 - Finished
************************************

$INCLUDE DSINCLUDE JOBCONTROL.H

JobHandle = DSAttachJob (Arg1, DSJ.ERRNONE)
jbStatus = DSGetJobInfo (JobHandle, DSJ.JOBSTATUS)
jbStartTime = DSGetJobInfo (JobHandle, DSJ.JOBSTARTTIMESTAMP)
jbEndTime = DSGetJobInfo (JobHandle, DSJ.JOBLASTTIMESTAMP)
ErrCode1 = DSDetachJob(JobHandle)
Ans = jbStatus:'|':jbStartTime:'|':jbEndTime
Return(Ans)
End:

Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:24 pm
by ray.wurlod
The "End:" is not correct syntax (it should not be there at all), but I would expect that that error would have been found at compile time. It appears that a sed command finished successfully (it was checkpointed) and whatever is next in the sequence has caused the sequence to abort. What is next in the sequence?

Posted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:06 am
by uegodawa
Issue is with Sequencer stage; got the ecase from IBM [ E62595]
Loop fails at the 258 iteration if the loop includes a Sequencer stage (ecase 62595)

Need to download error-free version of vmdsjsgn.dll and compile the job again.

Posted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:32 am
by chulett
Ah yes, I've seen the same issue. Make sure everyone gets the fix, otherwise if someone without it compiles the sequence, the error will come back.

Re: Sequence Abort with message Attempting to Cleanup after

Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:29 am
by good_samaritan
Hello All,

Just to let all know that this problem may have re-occurred again with V9.1 and there is a fixpack in place JR46525 for this.

I am following up with IBM on the issue and will keep all posted.

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.w ... wg1JR46525

Regards,
Good Samaritan