Sequence Abort with message Attempting to Cleanup after ABOR

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
uegodawa
Participant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:46 pm

Sequence Abort with message Attempting to Cleanup after ABOR

Post by uegodawa »

Hi.
I've a sequence job which iterates 12 hours to monitor some datastage jobs are executed sucessfully or not. After 30 or 40 minutes job failes with message "Attempting to Cleanup after ABORT raised in stage seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl".
Command executed previous to this message was "Unix sed " command;

seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@StartLoop2): Loop from 1 to 9 step 1: iteration 5

seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Executed: sed -n -e 5p /opt/bi/data/rss/work/SP_MON_JOBS.txt 2>/dev/null
Reply=0
Output from command ====>
INFINITY,Load_RSS_Infinity_Exec_SP_To_Stg

I've checked/unchecked following properties in sequence to make some difference, unfortunately it didn't worked for me.
1.Add checkpoints so sequence is restartable on failure
2. Automatically handle activities that fail.

Can somebody help me to figure out the issue on this situation?
Thanks,
Upul
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Can you post the actual, unedited abort error message please?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
uegodawa
Participant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:46 pm

Post by uegodawa »

These are the couple of messages from bottom to top with regarding to issue;

Job seq_SP_MONITOR aborted.
Attempting to Cleanup after ABORT raised in stage seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Checkpointed execution of command 'sed'
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Executed: sed -n -e 5p /opt/bi/data/rss/work/SP_MON_JOBS.txt
Reply=0
Output from command ====>
INFINITY,Load_RSS_Infinity_Exec_SP_To_Stg
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@StartLoop2): Loop from 1 to 9 step 1: iteration 5
seq_SP_MONITOR..JobControl (@cmd_sed): Checkpointed execution of command 'sed'
Thanks,
Upul
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

So... nothing that says something about a "Controller problem: Unhandled failure"? :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
uegodawa
Participant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:46 pm

Post by uegodawa »

Next stage in this sequence after unix 'sed' command is datastage routine named 'GetJobInfo' .
I'm not sure this controller issue coming from that routine. I've handled both triggers [ Failed-[Conditional] and Otherwise ] ; Below code is inside that routone.

* Routine : GetJobInfo
* Return Job stats
* Arg1 - Name of the Job
* 0 - Job Is Running 1 - Finished
************************************

$INCLUDE DSINCLUDE JOBCONTROL.H

JobHandle = DSAttachJob (Arg1, DSJ.ERRNONE)
jbStatus = DSGetJobInfo (JobHandle, DSJ.JOBSTATUS)
jbStartTime = DSGetJobInfo (JobHandle, DSJ.JOBSTARTTIMESTAMP)
jbEndTime = DSGetJobInfo (JobHandle, DSJ.JOBLASTTIMESTAMP)
ErrCode1 = DSDetachJob(JobHandle)
Ans = jbStatus:'|':jbStartTime:'|':jbEndTime
Return(Ans)
End:
Thanks,
Upul
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

The "End:" is not correct syntax (it should not be there at all), but I would expect that that error would have been found at compile time. It appears that a sed command finished successfully (it was checkpointed) and whatever is next in the sequence has caused the sequence to abort. What is next in the sequence?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
uegodawa
Participant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:46 pm

Post by uegodawa »

Issue is with Sequencer stage; got the ecase from IBM [ E62595]
Loop fails at the 258 iteration if the loop includes a Sequencer stage (ecase 62595)

Need to download error-free version of vmdsjsgn.dll and compile the job again.
Thanks,
Upul
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Ah yes, I've seen the same issue. Make sure everyone gets the fix, otherwise if someone without it compiles the sequence, the error will come back.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
good_samaritan
Participant
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:30 am

Re: Sequence Abort with message Attempting to Cleanup after

Post by good_samaritan »

Hello All,

Just to let all know that this problem may have re-occurred again with V9.1 and there is a fixpack in place JR46525 for this.

I am following up with IBM on the issue and will keep all posted.

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.w ... wg1JR46525

Regards,
Good Samaritan
Post Reply