Page 1 of 1

job parameter

Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:57 am
by agpt
Hi,

Can anybody tell me how to pass value returned by a unix script as a job parameter?

Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 11:13 am
by anbu

Code: Select all

dsjob ... -param retValue=$(Unix_Script)

Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 11:29 am
by agpt
anbu wrote:

Code: Select all

dsjob ... -param retValue=$(Unix_Script)
thanks Anbu... Suppose I am using exec command stage for the same and the next job in the seq is user activity . how do i pass then ?

Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 11:48 am
by anbu
Use commandOutput of Exec activity

Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 11:53 am
by agpt
anbu wrote:Use commandOutput of Exec activity
what do i give in that? parameter name?

Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:04 pm
by anbu
Assign this as expression to the variable defined in User Activity

Code: Select all

<Exec_Activity_Name>.$CommandOutput

Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:28 pm
by chulett
Don't try to type it in manually, use the "..." Parameter Helper to make the proper choice and fill it in for you.

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:09 am
by agpt
thanks

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:10 am
by agpt
chulett wrote:Don't try to type it in manually, use the "..." Parameter Helper to make the proper choice and fill it in for you. ...
Craig,

I believe same method can be used to pass multiple parameters if multiple values are returned by script?

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:37 am
by chulett
Yes. It can only return one result but you could parse one of multiple delimited values from there for different parameters.

Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:59 am
by agpt
chulett wrote:Yes. It can only return one result but you could parse one of multiple delimited values from there for different parameters. ...
Thanks a lot!!!