Page 1 of 2

trimming line terminator

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:32 pm
by allavivek
Hi All,

I was trying to trim line terminator that was causing my sequence to get aborted..

In sequence i am using loop through list of items.The last field is taking line terminator and causing termination...

I tried convert(@FM,",", Execute_Command.$CommandOutput)
before loop activity but it didnt work...

How to remove line terminator??

thnak you

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:40 pm
by allavivek
I even tried

Convert(@FM,',',Trim(Execute_Command.$CommandOutput," "))

not working still


Any suggestions

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:14 pm
by ray.wurlod
Please explain what "didn't work" entails? Your first expression should have removed the terminator, but replaced it with a comma. What command are you executing?

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 6:17 pm
by allavivek
Hi ray,

basically i was reading delimited values from file to loop to perform list loop.

When it comes to last field the sequence is getting executed.

......execute_command1 --->start loop---->user variable----->execute command2 ---->stop------

The execute command 2 was getting failed because of last field because of extra termination character ...

so i added user variable activity and tried to remove the extra character of last field....

is this correct approach or i should do any thing to get my loop finish succesfully....

thank you..

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:20 pm
by chulett
In your post, "termination character" means what? An extra comma on the end of the loop list or a trailing Field Mark there from the Execute Command?

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:31 pm
by allavivek
Chulett,

Im my file i have like

aaa,bbb,ccc

while processing loop for values aaa,bbb it was processing good but for ccc the sequence is getting failed...

in loop iam having execute command as ...

. somescript param1 param2

the error coming was..

command : . somescript param1
reply: param2
execution failed.

What i thought was along with ccc , termination char was coming which was leading failure of sequence...

How to get rid of this??

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 9:47 pm
by chulett
Doesn't really answer the question, I'm afraid. Can you post your actual, unedited error message?

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:20 am
by allavivek
Sorry chulett , actually i was out of my office yesterday so i couldnt post error message..

seq_xxxxxxxxxxxxx..JobControl (@yyyyyy): Executed: . script.ksh BEGIN param1 param2 param3 30 param4 param5
Reply= param6 param7 seq_xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Output from command ====>

seq_xxxxxxxxx..JobControl (@yyyyyyy): Command . did not finish OK, reply = '-1'

param5 contains values from loop....for last value in loop sequence is getting aborted..


Any suggestions please....

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:31 am
by chulett
Do you have the 'automatically handle' option turned on? It considers any 'non-zero' return code to be a failure. What happens if you turn that off if on?

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:37 am
by allavivek
Hi chulett,

I turned off the "automatically handle option" , but the error persists..

i was using

..execute command....>user variable--->statr loop---->command---->stop....

In user variable iam giving
convert(@FM,'',Execute_Command.$CommandOutput)

Is this correct way to handle...

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:42 am
by chulett
Yes - *if* that is the problem. However, doesn't sound like it is. What is your script actually doing? What kind of status does it return? :?

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:47 am
by allavivek
Hi chulett,

My script is reporting event to log database.it is working fine for all iterations..but for last one its getting failed..

Any suggestions..

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:59 am
by allavivek
Hi chulett,

On searching this forum i found

"Trim the final field mark from the command's output and convert the other field marks to a printable delimiter "


Can you tell me the funtion for the above statement...

thank you..

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:16 am
by ArndW
CONVERT(@FM,CHAR(10),FIELD(Execute_Command.$CommandOutput,@FM,1,DCOUNT(Execute_Command.$CommandOutput,@FM)-1))

This removes the last field then converts all field marks into char(10)

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:22 am
by allavivek
Hi andrw ,

I tried your code but it didnt worked...

Thank you..