Page 1 of 1

istool deploy package - problem with REPLACE option.

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:39 pm
by jhmckeever
Hi Everyone,

I'm trying to use istool to deploy a package to a target project. I want to re-deploy the package, performing a replacement of any existing jobs in the target project but I'm having problems with the 'replace' option when using 'istools deploy package':

Code: Select all

$> istool deploy package -domain {myServer} -username {myUsername} -password {myPassword} -verbose -package {myPackage} -label Build091118.1 -datastage -replace {myServer>/{myTargetProject}
istool deploy package  [ Options ]

Possible values for: Options
    Long Name:         Short Name:     Description:
    -help            ,  -h         : print command usage
    -domain          ,  -dom       : Name of Information Server domain
    -username        ,  -u         : Name of user account on Information Server domain
    -password        ,  -p         : Password for Information Server account
    -verbose         ,  -v         : display progress
    -silent          ,  -s         : silence command output
    -package         ,  -pkg       : Deployment Package name
    -label           ,  -lab       : Build Label to deploy
    -datastage       ,  -ds        : DataStage specific options

            Options for: -datastage
              -replace           ,  -repl      : Replace existing items in DataStage project
              server/project                   : DataStage project
    -preview         ,  -pre       : Preview deployment task

Unknown option: -replace,
istool deploy package  [ Options ]

Possible values for: Options
    Long Name:         Short Name:     Description:
    -help            ,  -h         : print command usage
    -domain          ,  -dom       : Name of Information Server domain
    -username        ,  -u         : Name of user account on Information Server domain
    -password        ,  -p         : Password for Information Server account
    -verbose         ,  -v         : display progress
    -silent          ,  -s         : silence command output
    -package         ,  -pkg       : Deployment Package name
    -label           ,  -lab       : Build Label to deploy
    -datastage       ,  -ds        : DataStage specific options

            Options for: -datastage
              -replace           ,  -repl      : Replace existing items in DataStage project
              server/project                   : DataStage project
    -preview         ,  -pre       : Preview deployment task

$>
Have I got the syntax incorrect? I *think* I'm using the syntax as specified in the help provided by istool. Any thoughts gratefully received.

John.

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:13 pm
by ray.wurlod
Does the -preview option work (a) without -repl and (b)with -repl ?

Have you tried -repl rather than -replace, just in case "they" aren't parsing the command line options correctly?

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:49 pm
by jhmckeever
Thanks Ray -

The -preview seems OK on its own, but use of -repl or -replace either with or without -preview doesn't work.

Code: Select all

jmckeeve@myServer>  istool deploy package -domain myServer -username myUsername -password myPassword -verbose -package DeployConnector -label Build091118.2 -datastage MyServer/SysTest01 -preview
Available Builds for package: DeployConnector
          Build091118.2  11/18/09 10:50  (latest build)
          Build091118.1  11/18/09 10:07
          Build3  11/17/09 16:52
          Build2  11/17/09 16:49

jmckeeve@myServer>  istool deploy package -domain myServer -username myUsername -password myPassword -verbose -package myPackage -label Build091118.2 -datastage -repl myServer/SysTest01
ERROR: Not an option: myServer/SysTest01
istool deploy package  [ Options ]

Possible values for: Options
    Long Name:         Short Name:     Description:
    -help            ,  -h         : print command usage
    -domain          ,  -dom       : Name of Information Server domain
    -username        ,  -u         : Name of user account on Information Server domain
    -password        ,  -p         : Password for Information Server account
    -verbose         ,  -v         : display progress
    -silent          ,  -s         : silence command output
    -package         ,  -pkg       : Deployment Package name
    -label           ,  -lab       : Build Label to deploy
    -datastage       ,  -ds        : DataStage specific options

            Options for: -datastage
              -replace           ,  -repl      : Replace existing items in DataStage project
              server/project                   : DataStage project
    -preview         ,  -pre       : Preview deployment task

J.

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:39 pm
by chulett
Perhaps there's another istool patch to fix that?

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:45 pm
by ray.wurlod
Category pathnames are specified with backslashes, if I recall correctly. Maybe you need something like \Jobs\myServer\SysTest01

Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 1:02 pm
by MrBlack
I know this is an old thread and you probably already got it figured out but I'm stumbling along the same path. I just found this link that I noticed that you need to single-quote the replace command

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledge ... eploy.html

so your command would be like this:

Code: Select all

istool deploy package -domain myServer -username myUsername -password myPassword -verbose -package myPackage -label Build091118.2 -datastage '-repl myServer/SysTest01 '
I haven't gotten the command that I'm building to work yet so take this with a grain of salt. Along those lines, did you get a command working? Will you share?