Page 1 of 1

Null handling in Transfomer

Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:16 pm
by deepa_shenoy
Hi All,

I want to give this condition in the Constraint tab of Transformer:

C_ID IS NOT NULL AND A_ID IS NOT NULL

How do I give this in DataStage?

I want the Transformer to pass those records which don't have NULLs in their IDs.

Thanks in advance.

Deepa

Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:23 pm
by tehavele
In the transformart constraint add below constraints.

Code: Select all

IsNotNull(C_ID) And IsNotNull(A_ID)

Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:41 pm
by deepa_shenoy
Thank you.

Deepa

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:33 am
by chulett
I'm assuming that's new syntax in 8.x or perhaps custom work. For earlier versions the answer would be:

Code: Select all

Not(IsNull(C_ID)) And Not(IsNull(A_ID))

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:14 am
by tehavele
No.It's there in 7.5 versions as well. I am working on 7.5.1

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:52 am
by ArndW
The IsNotNull() just gets compiled to Not(Isnull())

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:17 am
by chulett
You mean it's a transform? One I've yet to notice after all this time? Sheesh.

Edit: OK, I feel a little better here - there's no such thing in my 7.5.2 installation. It would be easy enough to whip one up, you sure that's not custom work?

Now, there is such a thing in a Parallel Transformer, but not in Server, and since this was marked as a Server question my answer stands. :wink: