Surrogate Key Generation using DS routine

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

deepa_shenoy
Participant

Surrogate Key Generation using DS routine

Post by deepa_shenoy »

Hi All,

I am completely new to DataStage and I am yet to learn the basics.

I would like to know how to generate surrogate keys in a sequential order using DS Routine. Do we use KeyMgtGetNextValue()? If yes, how exactly do we go about using it in the Transformer stage?

I used a Stage Variable, but am unable to give the routine-KeyMgtGetNextValue() in its derivations column.

Regards,
Deepa
Last edited by deepa_shenoy on Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Yes, that is exactly what that routine does. How were you 'unable to give the routine'? It should work fine there or any other transformer derivation.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

Not in a parallel job using a parallel Transformer stage, however.

The Key Management routines are suited only to server or BASIC Transformer stages.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Dang, missed that it was a Parallel question. [sigh]

As with most things PX, you've got a stage for that.
-craig

deepa_shenoy
Participant

Post by deepa_shenoy »

Thanks guys!!

I realised its possible only in Server Jobs and not in Parallel Jobs.

Is there any simple efficient method to generate Surrogate Keys in sequence, in a parallel job, without using Database Sequence??

I tried using the Flat File option but it generates surrogate keys like 1,1001,2001,2002,3001,4001,5001 etc which I am guessing is because of the 8 node configuration.