Dynamically renaming variables

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Offshored2002
Participant

Dynamically renaming variables

Post by Offshored2002 »

Is there any way to dynamically rename variables based on a lookup in DS (I am a relative newbie):

For example:
A file is read in, and contains fields A, B, and C. They need to be renamed to D, E, and F (no change to type) respectively. We have a table derived from a database which has this information:
Old Field name: A New Field Name: D Load to table: TABLE1

Is there some way to dynamically rename the fields on output from a transform or modify stage?
ArndW
Participant

Post by ArndW »

I think you might be able to leverage RCP and shared containers to do this. Declare your shard container with no columns and pass the original column name and new name as parameters to this container. Then use a modify stage to rename the column dynamically; repeat this call as often as necessary to process all the columns.
sud
Premium Member
Premium Member

Re: Dynamically renaming variables

Post by sud »

Another strategy:

Since you are concerned about field names, I will assume that you are about to insert the data into database. In that case, you can create a job that reads the old to new column mapping from the table and create a insert/update statement which you can pass as a parameter to the job where you do the actual data transformation and have the old filenames in the metadata and the insert/update statement will take care of the mapping. A sample SQL could be : insert into <table>(newcol1,newcol2) values(orchestrate.old1,orchestrate.old2).

In case you are writing only to a file, probably the column names go into the header record and that can be very easy to generate as well.
It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent for ETL, but I couldn't give it up because by that time I was too famous.