Joiner, union etc

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Stupe
Participant

Joiner, union etc

Post by Stupe »

Hi all,

I'm very new to Datastage, have just completed installation on my local machine (7.5x2) and am now messing around with it.

I come from an Informatica background, and well, DS's GUI confuses me. I successfully managed to do simple loads (DB table>flat file; DB table>simple transformation>flat file) using Server jobs. But I didn't notice any objects that are frequently found and used in Informatica, ie Joiner, Union, Sorter, Filter.

However I did notice that more objects are available if a Parallel job is created.

How does one do the similar activities in Datastage, like in Informatica?
mohdsuf
Participant

Post by mohdsuf »

Yes you can all you want to do in Datastage as you were doing in Informatica. Various activities of joiner, sort, filter etc you can observe and use it very well in parallel jobs from the PROCESSING palette.
Just check it out and you will have fun using datastage.
Sufiyan
Stupe
Participant

Post by Stupe »

Thanks Sufiyan.

Do correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't a parallel job restricted to unix systems? What if I just want to perform the functions with a Server job?
mohdsuf
Participant

Post by mohdsuf »

You cant say that Parallel jobs are restricted only to UNIX systems, but considering the stability and security what UNIX provides it certainly has an edge. As far as functions you want to build and use in your server jobs you can also do it with the help of subroutines(written in BASIC) to be used in your jobs.
Sufiyan
Stupe
Participant

Post by Stupe »

Ah... so, if I do continue using Server jobs, I'll have to code my subroutines.

And these transformations will be available in Parallel jobs. Can I run Parallel jobs on my local machine (containing Source, Datastage, Target)?
mohdsuf
Participant

Post by mohdsuf »