Page 1 of 1

Use of cmd line import utility "dscmdimport" in Da

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:32 am
by pg_smh
Hi,

I am trying to make use of command line import utility for Ascential Datastage 7.5.
The help that I could get from Datastage was :

dscmdimport [/H][/U][/P][/O][/NUA] project|/ALL|/ASK filepaths [/V]

/H Host name.
/U User name.
/P Password.
/O Omit flag.
/NUA Suppress usage analysis.
project Specifies the project name.
/ALL Import the specified dsx files into all projects on the server.
/ASK Asks for project name.
filepaths Specifies the import file names.
/V Verbose. Default to false.

But I have a confusion regarding the use of this utility, I just wanted to confirm the usage of this command:

For example following is the info I have:

hostname: host
username: test
password: pass
omit flag: No
Suppress Usage analysis: Yes
Project name: Proj_test
filepath: c:\DSX\Test.dsx

So shall my command look like something like:

dscmdimport /H host /U test /P pass /O N /NUA Y project Proj_test filepaths C:\DSX\Test.dsx

Please validate and confirm whether its correct or share a corrected format.

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:48 am
by ray.wurlod
Try it. If it works you have the correct syntax.

Obviously its not working

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 6:03 am
by pg_smh
Well, had it been working then I might not have posted this thread altogether, anyways, its not working giving me the message: "Failed to attach to project".

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 6:41 am
by chulett
From what I remember, you need equal signs between the options and values. And you don't use the words "project" or "filepaths" at all, just the actual values:

dscmdimport /H=host /U=test /P=pass /O=N /NUA=Y Proj_test C:\DSX\Test.dsx

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:58 am
by pg_smh
Hi,

Thanks a lot Chulett, it now works with a minor modification:

dscmdimport /H=host /U=test /P=pass /O=N /NUA Proj_test C:\DSX\Test.dsx

for usage analysis as disabled, and:

dscmdimport /H=host /U=test /P=pass /O=N Proj_test C:\DSX\Test.dsx

for usage analysis as enabled

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:53 pm
by chulett
Ah... good to know. Never done the command line import, just export. :wink:

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:43 pm
by ray.wurlod
Your original question raised your "doubt" - it did not mention that you could not get the command to work. Hence my reply.