Modifying a DOS script to a AIX ksh script

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member

Modifying a DOS script to a AIX ksh script

Post by I_Server_Whale »

Hi All,

Just want to make sure that I'm aware that this question is not entirely related to DataStage and hoping that I won't get chastised for posting a scripting related question.

I have a requirement where I need to convert the existing DOS (.bat) scripts to korn shell scripts. I'm posting this question since I'm a novice to shell scripting and gurus here are very knowledgeable on the subject.

The below is an example of an existing DOS script:

Code: Select all

ECHO OFF
REM This job runs daily and after CLAIMS and Written Premium.

del E:\Ardent\EDWDev\Logs\EDWD130AUDIT_Completed
del E:\Ardent\EDWDev\DataKC\EDWD130AUDIT_Completed

E:
CD E:\Ardent\DataStage\ServerEngine\bin

DSJOB -file e:\ardent\logon\prod\logon.ini HQS364 -run -jobstatus  -param RunType=RUN -param ParameterFile=e:\ardent\EDWProd\parameters\ParameterKC.ini -param ClearWorkArea=N -param OverRide=Y -warn 99999 EDW_PROD Batch::EDWD130AuditJob

ECHO OFF
SET ERRORLEVEL=0
IF NOT EXIST e:\Ardent\EDWDev\Logs\EDWD130AUDIT_Completed GOTO ENDIT

COPY  E:\Ardent\EDWDev\Logs\EDWD130AUDIT_Completed 	E:\Ardent\EDWDev\DataKC\EDWD130AUDIT_Completed

:ENDIT
IF NOT EXIST E:\Ardent\EDWDev\DataKC\EDWD130AUDIT_Completed echo !!!!!! DataStage Job FAILED !!!!!!
IF NOT EXIST E:\Ardent\EDWDev\DataKC\EDWD130AUDIT_Completed BLOWUP!
And with my rudimentary knowledge of scripting, I have converted the code to the following ksh script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/ksh
set +v
# This job runs daily and after CLAIMS and Written Premium.

rm /Ardent/EDWDev/Logs/EDWD130AUDIT_Completed
rm /Ardent/EDWDev/DataKC/EDWD130AUDIT_Completed

DSHOME=/datastage/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine
FILE1=/Ardent/EDWDev/Logs/EDWD130AUDIT_Completed