Running multiple instance of a job

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
udayanguha
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:48 pm
Location: Ohio

Running multiple instance of a job

Post by udayanguha »

Hi All,
I have a multiple instance job which loads data from a table to a file using RCP. I want to run the job for 10 different tables at the same time.How can I do that through
1. Designer and
2. Command line?

Thanks in advance.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

What kind of advice are you looking for, exactly? You launch one after the other, using unique Invocation IDs for each one. From the command line, you include the Invocation ID after the job name with a dot "." separator:

JobName.InvocationID

From the command line you use the dsjob utility, it is well documented and supports everything you can do through the API from the O/S command line.

From the Designer / Director you simply put the Invocation ID in the appropriate property box when you launch it.

You can put intelligence in the ID if you like. For example, use the table name as the Invocation ID might be one possibility and then you can leverage it in the job using the matching macro. Don't have it memorized anymore but should be something like @InvocationID I do believe.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Running the job is easy as Craig explains. Just learning the syntax of dsjob command.

This is not easily done within the job. Unless each table has the same metadata then this might be very difficult.
Mamu Kim
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Running multiple instance of a job

Post by ray.wurlod »

udayanguha wrote:I want to run the job for 10 different tables at the same time.
Why?

Aren't you concerned that you will overload (a) machine resources and (b) database licensed connections?

To run genuinely simultaneously the job requests must be executed asynchronously, for example by using nohup backgrouound processes. To run at the same time from a sequence job, simply don't link the job activities (though they may have their own triggers linking to downstream activities).
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply