DataStage Job's auditing

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Amin
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:02 am

DataStage Job's auditing

Post by Amin »

I want to store job information like Job Name, Job time before job started and after job ending(Succfuly or failure).
Kindly give in detail procedure to achive this task.(Ideal senario)
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

Go into DataStage Administrator, open your project settings, and enable the option to collect Operational Metadata.
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

If you are using DataStage Operations Console (and its associated database) this information is already being collected and stored.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Amin
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:02 am

Post by Amin »

Thanks for reply
qt_ky wrote:Go into DataStage Administrator, open your project settings, and enable the option to collect Operational Metadata.
We need to do auditing without enable Operational Metadata.
ray.wurlod wrote:If you are using DataStage Operations Console (and its associated database) this information is already being collected and stored.

Yes, We are using Operational console but it is not associated with databases.

Simply!!!
We have a table for job's auditing with our created additional information other than Job Name and time for our ease.
We need to implement this using Datastage job (Parallel or Sequence) and that Job is place before and after the orgional job in sequence Like:-
Job_StartTimeAudit------->Orgional Job---------->Job_EndTimeAudit
PaulVL
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:36 pm

Post by PaulVL »

I vote Console as well. The operational metadata XML parsing would (mostly) be usefull if you put it back into Metadata Workbench and often times it takes more than 24Hrs to load a days worth of production XML files that get generated. So you never catch up.

Ops Console is Gold.
PaulVL
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:36 pm

Post by PaulVL »

Ops Console is a database based information repository. Query it and populate your other database if you must. There are many example SQL statments out there for you to use.
vibwipro
Participant
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:34 am

Post by vibwipro »

You can write a server routine using following list of functions :-

DSAttachJob, DSGetJobInfo, DSGetJobInfo, DSGetJobInfo, DSGetJobInfo

It will help you in getting all required Datastage jobs auditing values and then you can write all parameters in some place holder using "Call DSExecute" command.

Regards..!!
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Amin wrote:We need to implement this using Datastage job (Parallel or Sequence) and that Job is place before and after the orgional job in sequence
Really? You've just tripled the number of jobs you run daily. Actually quadrupled. :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

The main point is that the Ops Console database already has the data you need. Why reinvent the wheel?
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

The Ops Console database is, typically, referred to as DSODB. It's fully accessible and fully documented (in the manual and in the IBM Knowledge Center). You ought to be able to get whatever you need directly from that database.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply