Install DataStage Linux Client

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

It should be possible to install the various executables, though they all have complex sets of libraries upon which they depend (essentially the libraries of the Engine tier). Therefore you would need to identify all of those libraries and install them as well. Oh, and you'd need to obtain Linux versions of the commands and libraries.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
PaulVL
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:36 pm

Post by PaulVL »

Why not ssh execute them from Linux remotely to aix?
mandyli
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 898
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by mandyli »

Hi PaulVL,

Can you please explain bit more?


Thanks
Man
PaulVL
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:36 pm

Post by PaulVL »

write a shell script on Linux. In it, use ssh to execute a command on your aix box and pass it parameters. You aix box is where your datastage engine is. But for some reason you want to initiate the event from Linux and act upon the successful return code....

Code: Select all

$rc= ssh userid@aix.box.hostname some_dsjob_wrapper_script_on_aix.sh parm1 parm2 parm3;

if $rc = bad {
  make_crocodile_tears();
} else {

printf "woohoo!";

}
something like that.

You don't need a datastage client on Linux to run jobs on AIX. Just ssh call the dsjob on aix.

If your data is on Linux, you'll have to ftp it to aix, or better yet, share the mount via NAS of Clustered File System SAN.

wouldn't that work for you?
Post Reply