getting list of jobs and sequences

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
times29
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:47 pm

getting list of jobs and sequences

Post by times29 »

Hi,
I have lot of jobs and sequences .

I want to get list of all jobs and sequences in a project is there easy way to do it.

Thanks
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Open Director.
Disable auto-refresh.
Disable display of categories.
There's your list. Sort it how you will.
From the Project menu choose Print.
In the Print dialog, choose Print To File.
When done, re-enable display of categories and auto-refresh.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
prasannakumarkk
Participant
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:24 am
Location: Chennai,TN, India

Post by prasannakumarkk »

there are lot of ways to acheive it.

Predominant way of getting the list is by using
dsjob -ljobs project
command. You can even specify the category/folder from where things have to be pulled

if you have dsadmin with you. Hit the xmeta to get the complete metadata of jobs.
Thanks,
Prasanna
times29
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:47 pm

Post by times29 »

i went to project path
did

dsjob -ljobs project

got error
dsjob:not found
prasannakumarkk
Participant
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:24 am
Location: Chennai,TN, India

Post by prasannakumarkk »

echo $DSHOME
Go to this path.in bin folder run the command

Give your project name not project
Thanks,
Prasanna
times29
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:47 pm

Post by times29 »

sorry not that good at unix thats what i did

khel: $pwd
/export/home/abc

khel$ echo $DSHOME

again did
khel: $pwd

i am still in

/export/home/abc
prasannakumarkk
Participant
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:24 am
Location: Chennai,TN, India

Post by prasannakumarkk »

You have to navigate to the datastage installation directory and in bin folder you have to invoke dsjob . In the above echo if you have not received any output then I guess you are in a Unix box where datastage is not installed or the user doesnt have proper privilege
Thanks,
Prasanna
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Code: Select all

DSHOME=`cat /.dshome`
export DSHOME
cd $DSHOME
. ./.dsenv
bin/dsjob options...
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

prasannakumarkk wrote:You have to navigate to the datastage installation directory and in bin folder you have to invoke dsjob.
Have to? No. You just need to understand full v. relative paths and work with how your PATH environment variable is set up.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
prasannakumarkk
Participant
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:24 am
Location: Chennai,TN, India

Post by prasannakumarkk »

Have to? No. You just need to understand full v. relative paths and work with how your PATH environment variable is set up.
yeah we can do it. as the user was novice didnt explain :)
Thanks,
Prasanna
Post Reply