Query reagarding Sequencer

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
reddyamarnath
Participant
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:12 am

Query reagarding Sequencer

Post by reddyamarnath »

I have 5 sequencer jobs are executing sequentially one executing another.In that after executing the first and second job i don't want to run the third job(this job runs only once in life time.i.e only first execution) and run the fourh and fifth sequencer jobs.
Forex: A--->B--->C--->D--->E
I want to run A,B and C is once in life time(Only first execution) And D and E.
Note:I don't want to run the Third(C) job separately.
reddy,amarnath
SURA
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:16 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Query reagarding Sequencer

Post by SURA »

Create the sequence like below.

Code: Select all

             life_time_codition (in trigger)-->C-->D-->E
A-->B---|
             Daily Run Condition (in trigger)--> D-->E       
Thanks
Ram
----------------------------------
Revealing your ignorance is fine, because you get a chance to learn.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Curiously what you need is a Sequencer.

A Sequencer is one of the activity types you can use in a Sequence.

Code: Select all

Job_A --->  Job_B  -------->  Job_C
               |      RunC       |
               |                 |
               |NoC              |
               |                 |
               +--> Sequencer <--+
                     (any)
                       | 
                       |
                       V
                     Job_D  --->  Job_E
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

I'm curious how you are going to handle the "once in a lifetime" condition / trigger part of this...
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Detect anything that job C does. If it's not present job C never completed successfully.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Not you... them.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
SURA
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:16 am
Location: Sydney

Post by SURA »

chulett wrote:how you are going to handle the "once in a lifetime" condition / trigger part of this...
Can't pass the param flag to trigger?
Thanks
Ram
----------------------------------
Revealing your ignorance is fine, because you get a chance to learn.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

What "param flag"? They can do all kinds of things for this but I really was curious to see how the OP was planning on handling it, how they would recognize that it had already run once (or alternatively hadn't run yet). Once we have some idea what the condition might be, then planned on chiming in with how to check it, if they needed any help on that count.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply