DS job execute error..status code 255 ???

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Developer9
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:10 pm

DS job execute error..status code 255 ???

Post by Developer9 »

Hi,

Data Stage 7.5.2,DB2 UDB,AIX

Code: Select all

DB2API stage (Table name)>>>Data set stage 
Here "Table name" is passed as parameter to read the data and writing to a dataset.


Option 1:I am using UNIX script to trigger the job from command line :

/script>sh run_job.sh "Table name"

Code: Select all

##############################################################################
#Submitting the job run request to run the DS job
###################################################################################
 
$DS_BIN/dsjob -server ${DS_SERVER} -user ${DS_USER} -password ${DS_PWD} -run -warn no \
-param 'TableName='${TableName} \
-jobstatus ${DS_PROJ} ${DS_JOB}

###################################

Log message :

Code: Select all

DS Job to be executed: 
Job Status is 
 job is in abort state. Resetting.....
Unable to reset job .
Job status is .
Reset step returned value is 255.
Option2:execute using dsjob command ..the job is executing with no issues

Code: Select all

dsjob -run -param "TableName=XXXXX" PROJECT jobname
Please let me know what could be reason for the error

Thank you
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

Return code 255 is given with syntax problems. Try adding this at the end of the dsjob line in your script, then check the log file:

Code: Select all

... ${DS_PROJ} ${DS_JOB} > logfile 2>&1
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Developer9
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:10 pm

Post by Developer9 »

I have given but It's the same log message I am getting !!!
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What else is in logfile?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Developer9
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:10 pm

Post by Developer9 »

Nothing else other what I mentioned is here ..

But in my command line (Putty)showing following message

Code: Select all

"DS_JOB Name to execute:
RUN_ID for the job  is:XXXXXXXX
Invalid arguments: dsjob -jobinfo [-useid] <project> <job|jobid>

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR
"


Thank you
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

Try removing the backslashes and make sure the dsjob call in the script is all on one line.
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

Check the rest of your script. It looks like it's erroring on the syntax of the -jobinfo option, not on the -run option.
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
pandeesh
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:15 am
Location: CHENNAI, TAMIL NADU

Post by pandeesh »

Post the complete script so that we can help on debugging.
pandeeswaran
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

Have you resolved this?
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Post Reply