dsjob -ljobs not working

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

dsjob -ljobs not working

Post by suresh_dsx »

Hi,


Total number of jobs in the project =100

10 jobs created with in the project
90 jobs exported with executables from the different environment and imported in this environment.

${DSJob} -server :30012 -ljobs project_name

i am using the above command for listing all the jobs in the project.

But it is listing only 10 jobs the remaining jobs it is showing as warning.

Status code = -1002
ERROR: Failed to open project

Any help greatly appricated

Thanks
Suresh
samyamkrishna
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: dsjob -ljobs not working

Post by samyamkrishna »

Try only

dsjob -ljobs PROJECT_NAME
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Post by suresh_dsx »

Initially, Tried with that one only. it is not working beacuse we using different port.
I have used the syntax. it list only 10 jobs but reamining 90 jobs it is showing the error message.
samyamkrishna
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by samyamkrishna »

Are you able to open the newly imported jobs or run them sucessfully.
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Post by suresh_dsx »

yes we are able to open jobs. still facing the same.

I have re compiled the jobs, and also facing the same.
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Post by suresh_dsx »

  • Checked the permission of the user. Full permissions given for the user. i am unable to track the problem.

    tried with below syntax
    Used direct path but still facing the same.

Code: Select all

$DSHOME/bin/dsjob -server :30012 -ljobs project_Name
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Are the indexes in the project in need of rebuilding?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Project name is case sensitive. Make sure it is spelled and cased correctly.

You also seem to have provided an empty server name. This may be the problem. You really need something like -server servername:portnumber even if the servername is localhost.

I suspect also that, if you use -server option in version 8, you also need to provide the -domain option.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Post by suresh_dsx »

Connecting to data stage designer tool passing host name : abcd0012.cust.systems.co:9080
Project name: abcd:30012/cust_prd_proj


While executing dsjob command
Project name: cust_prd_proj
server name:abcd0012

Code: Select all

     ${DSJob} -server abcd0012:30012 -domain -ljobs cust_prd_proj
It is showing as syntax error

Command Syntax:
dsjob [-file <file> <server> | [-server <server>][-user <user>][-password <password>]]
<primary command> [<arguments>]

Valid primary command options are:
-run
-stop
-lprojects
-ljobs
-linvocations
-lstages
-llinks
-projectinfo
-jobinfo
-stageinfo
-linkinfo
-lparams
-paraminfo
-log
-logsum
-logdetail
-lognewest
-report
-jobid
-import

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR


then tried with another options still facing the syntax error.

Project name: cust_prd_proj
Server name: abcd0012

Code: Select all

Option 1          ${DSJob} -server abcd0012:30012 -domain -ljobs cust_prd_proj
Option 2          ${DSJob} -domain -server abcd0012:30012 -ljobs cust_prd_proj
Please share how to use the -domain option in the dsjob command.
I have not found in the data stage parallel guide for syntax.
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Post by suresh_dsx »

Hi,

we are able to list the jobs using dsjob command.

Resolution:

Changed the shell script dsenv path and tested, it is working fine.

Code: Select all

${DSJob} -server :30012 -ljobs project_name
But now in the server routine we are using the below command to run the jobs

Tried with the below options.

Option1) existing i have used to run the data stage jobs using a routine.

Code: Select all

DSJobCmd = WorkingDir : 'dsjob -server ' : Server : ' -run ' : Parameters : ' -warn ' : WarnLimit : ' -rows ' : RowLimit : ' ' : Projectname : ' ' : 
JobName
Option2) We are unable to execute the routne beacuse we are using instance( :30012). i am using value with colon(:30012). so i want skip the colon and run the routine. what is the standard syntax i have to use in the routine.colon is treating as concatenation in the below. how to escape the colon in the below command

Code: Select all

DSJobCmd = WorkingDir : 'dsjob -server ' : Server:':30012 -run ' : Parameters : ' -warn ' : WarnLimit : ' -rows ' : RowLimit : ' ' : Projectname : ' ' : JobName
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Not sure I follow. A colon inside quotes is not concatenation but just a colon and you seem to have quoted it correctly: ':30012 -run ' :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Colon is never concatenation in the shell. Discount that possibility.

To get the required syntax, type dsjob -run by itself.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Post by suresh_dsx »

After taking notes on your valuable suggestions and tried with many possibilities.
Finally got the solution on this. this is closed.

Code: Select all

DSJobCmd = WorkingDir : 'dsjob -server :30012' : ' -run ' : Parameters : ' -warn ' : WarnLimit : ' -rows ' : RowLimit : ' ' : Projectname : ' ' : JobName
Thanks,
Suresh
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

So you never bothered to inform us that you were constructing this command in a routine, a piece of information that was somewhat important.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply