Compilation through dscc

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
tkbharani
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Sydney

Compilation through dscc

Post by tkbharani »

Hi

I am compiling DataStage Jobs and Folder through dscc command, through a batch file. My DataStage Folder name contains space in between names. For example, one of the folder name is "00 Sequence". When there is a space in names, dscc command fails. Can any of you suggest me how to use the command when there is a space. Following is the command

Code: Select all

"C:\PF\IBM\IS\Clients\Classic\"dscc /h HOSTNAME /u USERNAME /p PASS DS_PROJECT /f /j \Jobs\TEST\00 SAMPLE\* /rd F:\Batch1.txt /rt T
Thanks, BK
arvind_ds
Participant
Posts: 428
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:38 pm
Location: Manali

Post by arvind_ds »

Try using double quotes for your directory location path.

eg

"\Jobs\TEST\00 SAMPLE\*"
Arvind
tkbharani
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Sydney

Post by tkbharani »

hi

I tried using "", but it did not work. I also, tried some escape charecters and many options, but still I could not get the right way to crack it :?
Thanks, BK
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Double-quotes are the right answer, that or the 8.3 original short name that's still there. Try "\Jobs\TEST\00 SAMPLE\"* instead, that or \Jobs\TEST\00SAMP~1\* as a guess. Note the number at the end may be different depending on 'duplicates'.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
bcormier7
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:33 am
Location: Montreal

Post by bcormier7 »

You were close but the last double quote goes before the \* like this "\Jobs\TEST\00 SAMPLE"\* ... :D

Cheers!!
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

8)
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

I don't think you can compile a whole folder like that. You need to compile one job at a time. All you need is the job name.

I also think you are quoting the command wrong.

Code: Select all

"C:\PF\IBM\IS\Clients\Classic\dscc.exe"
or leave them off because the is no space in the command path.

Code: Select all

C:\PF\IBM\IS\Clients\Classic\dscc.exe
Mamu Kim
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Here is my code from my batch file.

Code: Select all

SET DsBaseDir=C:\Progra~1\Ascential\DataStage7.5.1
SET DsCompileCmd=%DsBaseDir%\dscc.exe

%DsCompileCmd% /h %ImportHost% /u %ImportUser% /p %ImportPassword% %ImportProject% /j %%i /f >> %LogFileName%
This is obviously older version of DataStage but all you need to do is add the domain info. The compile command is in a loop where it is exporting one job at a time and importing it then compiling it. So "%%i" is fed from that loop. You can easily build a list of jobs with dsjob command but not based on a folder. The folder name is not easily obtained.

Code: Select all

    for /F "tokens=1" %%i in (%JobList%) do (

    )
Mamu Kim
Post Reply