Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR

Post by tehavele »

I am trying to execute job through unix using dsjob command.

I hava a job which I am able to execute through dsjob command as below.

Code: Select all

dsjob -run -param Value=abc -param Value1=12 -param test=Tejas DMDev Student_2
But when I am trying to run another job with below syntax

Code: Select all

dsjob -run -param ET_JOB_NAME=JB_STG1_2_STG2_PM_FLOC -param ET_SOURCE_TABLE=CSTG1.MDR_VW_SAP_FUNCTIONAL_LOCATION -param ET_TARGET_TABLE=CSTG2.PM_FLOC -param GENERATION_PARAMETER=Gen_Param DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2
It is giving below error.

Code: Select all

Invalid arguments: dsjob -run
                        [-mode <NORMAL | RESET | VALIDATE>]
                        [-paramfile <filename>]
                        [-param <name>=<value>]
                        [-warn <n>]
                        [-rows <n>]
                        [-wait]
                        [-opmetadata <TRUE | FALSE>]
                        [-disableprjhandler]
                        [-disablejobhandler]
                        [-jobstatus]
                        [-userstatus]
                        [-local]
                        [-useid]
                        <project> <job|jobid>

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR
I tried searching but could not solve it.

Any help appreciated.
Tejas
asorrell
Posts: 1707
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Colleyville, Texas

Post by asorrell »

I can't see anything that stands out as being wrong. I'd recommend starting with just running the job with no parameters and then adding in parameters one at a time until it "breaks" so you know what is causing the problem.
Andy Sorrell
Certified DataStage Consultant
IBM Analytics Champion 2009 - 2020
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

What does "dsjob -jobstatus DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2" return?
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

Command "dsjob -jobstatus DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2" returned

Code: Select all

{cdsusr@cdhiiad1:/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin}dsjob -jobstatus DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2
Invalid/unknown primary command switch.
Command Syntax:
        dsjob [-file <file> <domain> <DataStage server> | -domain <domain> -user <user> -password <password> -server <DataStage server>]
                        <primary command> [<arguments>]

Valid primary command options are:
        -run
        -stop
        -lprojects
        -ljobs
        -linvocations
        -lstages
        -llinks
        -projectinfo
        -jobinfo
        -stageinfo
        -linkinfo
        -lparams
        -paraminfo
        -log
        -logsum
        -logdetail
        -lognewest
        -report
        -jobid
        -import

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR
Tejas
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

He meant -jobinfo rather than status.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Try specifying options -domain -user -password and -server
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

Code: Select all

 He meant -jobinfo rather than status.
Thanks for correcting Craig.

Code: Select all

{cdsusr@cdhiiad1:/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin}dsjob -jobinfo DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2_tej
Job Status      : RESET (21)
Job Controller  : not available
Job Start Time  : Tue Jul 13 00:43:52 2010
Job Wave Number : 0
User Status     : not available
Job Control     : 0
Interim Status  : NOT RUNNING (99)
Invocation ID   : not available
Last Run Time   : Tue Jul 13 00:43:52 2010
Job Process ID  : 0
Invocation List : RECON_STG1_2_STG2_tej
Job Restartable : 0

Status code = 0

I can run this job through director successfully.
Tejas
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

I ran the job successfully through director.

Now When I am trying to run through dsjob utility it is giving same error.

Code: Select all

{cdsusr@cdhiiad1:/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin}FLOC -param GENERATION_PARAMETER=Gen_Param DMD            <
Invalid arguments: dsjob -run
                        [-mode <NORMAL | RESET | VALIDATE>]
                        [-paramfile <filename>]
                        [-param <name>=<value>]
                        [-warn <n>]
                        [-rows <n>]
                        [-wait]
                        [-opmetadata <TRUE | FALSE>]
                        [-disableprjhandler]
                        [-disablejobhandler]
                        [-jobstatus]
                        [-userstatus]
                        [-local]
                        [-useid]
                        <project> <job|jobid>

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR
And the output of
dsjob -jobinfo DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2
is

Code: Select all


{cdsusr@cdhiiad1:/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin}dsjob -jobinfo DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2
Job Status      : RUN with WARNINGS (2)
Job Controller  : not available
Job Start Time  : Tue Jul 13 15:13:55 2010
Job Wave Number : 1
User Status     : not available
Job Control     : 0
Interim Status  : NOT RUNNING (99)
Invocation ID   : not available
Last Run Time   : Tue Jul 13 15:14:01 2010
Job Process ID  : 0
Invocation List : RECON_STG1_2_STG2
Job Restartable : 0

Status code = 0

Tejas
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

Code: Select all

I can't see anything that stands out as being wrong. I'd recommend starting with just running the job with no parameters and then adding in parameters one at a time until it "breaks" so you know what is causing the problem. 
Andy ,

I used this approach. I started with no parameters. After adding parameters one after another I reached where job is running successfully with the three parameters. The dsjob command is as below.The name of changed job is now RECON_STG1_2_STG2_tej.

Code: Select all

dsjob -run -param GENERATION_PARAMETER=Gen_Param -param ET_SOURCE_TABLE=CSTG1.MDR_VW_SAP_FUNCTIONAL_LOCATION  -param ET_TARGET_TABLE=CSTG2.PM_FLOC DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2_tej

Now here When I add the last parameter i.e. ET_JOB_NAME=JB_STG1_2_STG2_PM_FLOC It is giving same error as the previous one. i.e. Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR

The command is as below

Code: Select all

dsjob -run -param GENERATION_PARAMETER=Gen_Param -param ET_SOURCE_TABLE=CSTG1.MDR_VW_SAP_FUNCTIONAL_LOCATION  -param ET_TARGET_TABLE=CSTG2.PM_FLOC  -param ET_JOB_NAME=JB_STG1_2_STG2_PM_FLOC DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2_tej
Now It is clear that this parameter is the problem.
I tried different options like 'ET_JOB_NAME=JB_STG1_2_STG2_PM_FLOC'
ET_JOB_NAME='JB_STG1_2_STG2_PM_FLOC' but noting helped.Got the same error.

Am I missing something here ?
[/code]
Tejas
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

Code: Select all

Try specifying options -domain -user -password and -server 
Ray ,
I tried as you have suggested but gave the same error.

Code: Select all

 

dsjob -domain 10.202.131.46:9080 -user cdsusr -password cdsusr -server CDHIIAD1:31538 -run -param GENERATION_PARAMETER=Gen_Param -param ET_SOURCE_TABLE=CSTG1.MDR_VW_SAP_FUNCTIONAL_LOCATION -param ET_JOB_NAME=JB_STG1_2_STG2_PM_FLOC -param ET_TARGET_TABLE=CSTG2.PM_FLOC DMDev RECON_STG1_2_STG2_tej

Output is as below.

Invalid arguments: dsjob -run
                        [-mode <NORMAL | RESET | VALIDATE>]
                        [-paramfile <filename>]
                        [-param <name>=<value>]
                        [-warn <n>]
                        [-rows <n>]
                        [-wait]
                        [-opmetadata <TRUE | FALSE>]
                        [-disableprjhandler]
                        [-disablejobhandler]
                        [-jobstatus]
                        [-userstatus]
                        [-local]
                        [-useid]
                        <project> <job|jobid>

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR

[/code]
Tejas
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

This issues is solved now. The problem was my command was too big for unix command prompt. I realized that when I tried with all the parameters dsjob command was getting truncated at DMDev. I copy the command in the unix shell script and ran the script and it worked. Same command is running fine now.

Thanks to all for your help.
Tejas
Post Reply