Null handling in Transfomer

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
deepa_shenoy
Participant
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 12:15 am
Location: India

Null handling in Transfomer

Post by deepa_shenoy »

Hi All,

I want to give this condition in the Constraint tab of Transformer:

C_ID IS NOT NULL AND A_ID IS NOT NULL

How do I give this in DataStage?

I want the Transformer to pass those records which don't have NULLs in their IDs.

Thanks in advance.

Deepa
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

In the transformart constraint add below constraints.

Code: Select all

IsNotNull(C_ID) And IsNotNull(A_ID)
Tejas
deepa_shenoy
Participant
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 12:15 am
Location: India

Post by deepa_shenoy »

Thank you.

Deepa
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

I'm assuming that's new syntax in 8.x or perhaps custom work. For earlier versions the answer would be:

Code: Select all

Not(IsNull(C_ID)) And Not(IsNull(A_ID))
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
tehavele
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by tehavele »

No.It's there in 7.5 versions as well. I am working on 7.5.1
Tejas
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

The IsNotNull() just gets compiled to Not(Isnull())
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You mean it's a transform? One I've yet to notice after all this time? Sheesh.

Edit: OK, I feel a little better here - there's no such thing in my 7.5.2 installation. It would be easy enough to whip one up, you sure that's not custom work?

Now, there is such a thing in a Parallel Transformer, but not in Server, and since this was marked as a Server question my answer stands. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply